Apple Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was my first time making this. I did cut back on the sugar and only used 1 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Tasted alright. I think I cooked it too long though, cause I stirred it quite a bit and then used my immersion blender to break it down. I used an apple slicer and peeler in the beginning and then put the apples in a food processor for a bit. Tasted alright, didn't make too much though, guess people doubled their recipes or my apples weren't big. Will try again this year and make it in time for the holidays (missed it this year). Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Really yummy! I don't suggest using a slow cooker liner for this recipe. I did and it didn't hold up to the 12 hours of cooking, so it broke and all my liquid burned to the bottom of my cooker. But, I just added a little water to the very thick apple paste that I got out of my cooker and pureed it (I think this recipe needs a quick trip through the food processor to lighten it and get the lumps out) and it turned out so very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
The most awesome apple butter EVER! Takes a long time, but super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
this is a good recipe. i dont find it too sweet at all. i did put it in my chopper to get rid of all chunks. i make this every year for the holidays & havent gotten bad review yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is yummy, but I will say I use it more like a "suggestion" than a recipe. I fill my large crockpot with about 15-20 medium apples, peeled, cored and chopped. Then, I add 3 cups sugar, 3 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves, and a dash of salt. Cook it for 10-12 hours, blend, and pour into jars. I don't can/preserve it, just refrigerate--it goes so fast, it's not around for long! I think the original recipe would have been way to sweet--and would have made too little! Fill that crockpot, make it worth your time--makes the house smell great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLynn75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Saying "8 apples" is a little vague. My apples were HUGE. This is similar to the last recipe I tried from here, and both used too much sugar in my opinion. I used 1 cup white and 1 cup brown. I cooked for about 12 hours, blended with an electric mixer to make it a little smoother and then processed six 1 cup jars in a boiling water bath. Although it tasted like 5 star apple butter, had I used the amount of suger indicated it would have been far too sweet, so I gave the recipe 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I reduced the sugar by a cup and substituted nutmeg as I had no cloves. My first time making apple butter, but certainly not the last. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I made the first batch according to the recipe (although I did halve the sugar) and it came out great but I was afraid some might find it too cinnamony so I used only 2 teaspoons for batch number 2. Now I'm making batch number 3 and I think I'll use at least 3 teaspoons or go back to the full 4. The "sharp" flavor is much nicer than a too bland apple butter. In any case, this is definitely a keeper - so easy to make. I put the apples in at night and finished them off in the morning with an immersion blender. As other reviewers mentioned, I took the lid off for the last couple hours to get rid of some of the liquid. I found canning instructions online, so I processed my jars and will give them as teacher gifts for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Tastes good, although very sweet, next time I am going to cut the sugar in half, as others mentioned. I did cut the cinnamon in half, turned out just right for my taste. I used granny smith and winesap apples that I got at an orchard, wonderful tart apples, even with these there was still too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This recipe is absolutely delicious. It turns out great each & every time. Makes a great gift in a jar also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Slaton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States