Apple Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I've never been a fan of store-bought apple butter, but wanted to give homemade a try because I've heard it's so much different & better. I have concluded that I just must not be a fan of apple butter. To me, it is just spiced-up applesauce. I guess I expect more substance to the spread, like a buttery texture or something. Anyway, I made this as stated, but reduced the sugar by just 1c versus the 2c that many other reviewers did. Thanks for the recipe, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I like that this recipe DOES not use cider or apple sauce. I did take the suggestion of reducing the sugar and adding a couple more spices as one reviewer suggested. I didn't use a crock pot. I used a slow oven and an immersion blender. Can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALL4MUTTZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This is awesome apple butter. I followed the advice of some commenters. I decreased the sugar by one cup, the cinnamon by one teaspoon, added a couple of apples because the ones I was using were on the small side, and added balsamic vinegar. My husband said it was as good as we bought at Shipshewana. I think it is better. I love using the slow cooker - it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This recipe is awesome and soooo easy for novice cookers like myself. I did cut out 1 cup of sugar and only put in 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. Depending upon the apples it does not take 12 hours to make. Watch for the consistency of the butter. Everyone loves it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
YUMMY!! This recipe was excellent. I did cut the sugar in half but I had to give it 5 stars because it's so easy and so delicious! My family couldn't get enough of it I had to make 2 more batches the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I was nervous about making this but it turned out great. I used 12 small apples, 1 c of white sugar and 1 c. of brown sugar with a sprinkle of cloves. It made 2 quarts of yummy apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
After reading others comments, I added 1 t. ginger, used 2 C. white sugar and 1 C. brown sugar instead of 4 C. of white sugar. At the end of 12 hours, I used a whisk to stir the apple butter and it gave it a wonderful consistency! My gang LOVED this recipe and I'm already making another batch! It is fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
So good. I used it to top the best bread recipe on the site "Amish white bread" and I am in heaven. I am going to jar lots of this recipe to give out as CHristmas gifts this year. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockledge, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
THIS IS AMAZING :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WM Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I was disappointed. I did everything as indicated and my apples burned. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States