Apple Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I've never been a fan of store-bought apple butter, but wanted to give homemade a try because I've heard it's so much different & better. I have concluded that I just must not be a fan of apple butter. To me, it is just spiced-up applesauce. I guess I expect more substance to the spread, like a buttery texture or something. Anyway, I made this as stated, but reduced the sugar by just 1c versus the 2c that many other reviewers did. Thanks for the recipe, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I like that this recipe DOES not use cider or apple sauce. I did take the suggestion of reducing the sugar and adding a couple more spices as one reviewer suggested. I didn't use a crock pot. I used a slow oven and an immersion blender. Can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALL4MUTTZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This is awesome apple butter. I followed the advice of some commenters. I decreased the sugar by one cup, the cinnamon by one teaspoon, added a couple of apples because the ones I was using were on the small side, and added balsamic vinegar. My husband said it was as good as we bought at Shipshewana. I think it is better. I love using the slow cooker - it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
This recipe is awesome and soooo easy for novice cookers like myself. I did cut out 1 cup of sugar and only put in 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. Depending upon the apples it does not take 12 hours to make. Watch for the consistency of the butter. Everyone loves it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
YUMMY!! This recipe was excellent. I did cut the sugar in half but I had to give it 5 stars because it's so easy and so delicious! My family couldn't get enough of it I had to make 2 more batches the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I was nervous about making this but it turned out great. I used 12 small apples, 1 c of white sugar and 1 c. of brown sugar with a sprinkle of cloves. It made 2 quarts of yummy apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
After reading others comments, I added 1 t. ginger, used 2 C. white sugar and 1 C. brown sugar instead of 4 C. of white sugar. At the end of 12 hours, I used a whisk to stir the apple butter and it gave it a wonderful consistency! My gang LOVED this recipe and I'm already making another batch! It is fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
So good. I used it to top the best bread recipe on the site "Amish white bread" and I am in heaven. I am going to jar lots of this recipe to give out as CHristmas gifts this year. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Conklin Hoog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockledge, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
THIS IS AMAZING :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I was disappointed. I did everything as indicated and my apples burned. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States