Apple Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
ok a few things i changed after reading the reviews: cut the sugar by 1/2 cup (probably should have cut a little more), used part brown sugar, left the spices the same but added nutmeg. minced the apples first in a chopper, cooked it for around 5 hours then ran it through the chopper again to get out the chunks. i had to add a little water to thin it out, but overall it's REALLY good and made my apartment smell yummy. good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
A little sugary for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I loved this! Very easy. I too lessened the sugar by one cup and used half brown sugar and white sugar. Wonderful recipe if you love to use the crockpot like I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was great. Definitely cut the sugar by at least one cup. It is great with both half brown sugar, half white. I gave this for Christmas gifts this year and it was a hit. I will be making this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
amazing. so easy, and so yummy. I did tweak the sugar a bit, and think i will have to reduce it again. Some like it sweet, though - gave it as presents to all, friends and family. thanks! This is now my tradition - making apple butter every year! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Love love love this apple butter! I make it every christmas and can it for gifts. It's so much better than the jarred stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Still pretty sweet after reducing the sugar, but good! After reading comments from others, I did not peel the apples but ran the mixture through the blender after it had cooked. Turned out perfectly and much less work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This turned out very nice tasting, I loved the flavours. I used pureed apple left over from apples I'd juiced and it was fine. Very sweet, even when I'd cut down the sugar by a cup, but then my apples were sweet ones. I am currently making another batch from tarter apples with less sugar. I'm using brown sugar for this one as i think that'll go with it nicely. I will blend it with my original batch to balance it. Also, it came out very dark. I nicknamed it "the black splat" but that might just have been the apples I used. Oh, and I only needeed to cook it for eight hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This recipe was a great start for tweaking. After reading all the suggestions I did make a few changes. First, I initially tripled the recipe to accomodate my amount of apples. Then I cut the sugar by half and used half white and half brown sugar. I also reduced the cinnamon by half. The end product was FABULOUS! The house smelled wonderful and thae taste was so much better than any bought apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I am on my second batch, it is just great. I put it into the crock pot just about an hour before going to work, turn it down to low and let it cook. After supper I process it. Greatest and simple recipe. I went with other reviews, increased the apples, decreased the sugar, kept the cinnamon the same way because we love the taste of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whiteswan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States