Apple Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Went apple picking, found this recipe. Made it, gave it out to my nieghbors and I am still getting calls about how good it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
So delicious and easy! I followed others suggestions and used half the amount of sugar called for and it turned out GREAT! This was my first time ever making apple butter but certainly not my last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Really easy to make. It does not need 12 hours. The spices were really strong but good. I cut the sugar by 1 cup and used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white. Smells yummy and had a deep rich color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heflin, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This is delicious! Followed other reviewers, used about 11 Cortlands, cut the sugar to 2 cups, the cinnamon to 2. Cooked it for 10 hours. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I made a double batch of this the first time and it came out too sweet. The next time I made it I cut the sugar in half. Left everything else the same. Could be my apples were sweeter. However it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I love apple butter, and I love sweets but this stuff was WAY TOO SWEET! I'm going to try again with half the sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
It doesn't get any easier than this!!! I just filled my large crock pot with peeled, cored and chopped apples. I added 2 C apple cider, 2 C. sugar, 3 tsp. cinn., 1 tsp cloves and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I start the pot at around 8 pm stir once or twice before going to bed and when I wake up in the morning I use a strong whisk to break up any chunks. Uncover and cook on high for 2-4 hours until thick and smooth. I process mine in a water bath for 15 min. This is a great way to use up those spotted and imperfect apples from your tree!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Other than reducing the sugar by half, I followed this recipe exactly. 12 hours is too long. My apple mixture was more like glue than butter. I canned it anyway hoping that once it had cooled it would be a different consistency. Nope. I will try it again some other time, as the flavor and smell was great! But I will make sure that I keep a cloer eye on the consistency after several hours in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was very easy and delicious. I did tweak it a bit. Like other reviewers, I cut the sugar in half. I used 2 cups, lightly packed light brown sugar. I also used 12 good size apples, 2 tsp. of cinnamon and 2 tsp. of apple pie spice. It is a wonderful treat on toast or raisin bread. The timing in the slow cooker was perfect. Even though I did change things a bit, "thanks" for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Henderson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Very good! My husband tasted it with a little hesitation but then went right back for more saying "this really DOES taste just like what I had as a kid!". I can't give this 4 stars because the recipe was vague on the amount/type of apples - "8 apples" leaves a ton of room for interpretation! I used a 3lb bag of Pinata apples (they taste like Honey Crisps) which was 10 small apples. I also reduced the sugar by half and it was still plenty sweet. I let it cook overnight and it worked great! I also like the idea of stirring it with a wire whisk to get the last chunks broken up vs putting it in a blender. A lot less messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States