Apple Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this but scaled it down to only use 3 apples. I omitted the nutmeg because I am not a big fan of it. Also, I used only a little sugar since the apples are somewhat sweet on their own. It is good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chickens
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Used 13 apples, 2 3/4cSugar, 3tspCinnamon, 1tspCloves, 1/4tspSalt, juice of 1 Lemon. Followed the crocking directions. I think the recipe as written would have been far too sweet. Next time i'll reduce the sugar even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was really good! I had to cook this about 15 hours. Then I used an immersion blender to get this the right consistency. Finally, I put these in small jars and covered with boiling water, boiling for 7 minutes to seal. Don't tighten the rings on the jars after boiling for 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Far too spicey for my taste even tho I cut the sugar, but I don't think I cut the cinnamon, my mistake. I think I'll try putting together another batch with everything cut and see how it comes out. Perhaps I'm just not a fan of apple butter and that's all it is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I've made this twice now. The first time I used golden delicious from the local orchard, I used one cup of dark brown sugar and used the recommended spices for a crockpot full of chopped apples, many more than eight, you'll need several pounds of apples to yield a worthwhile amount of apple butter. I pureed about 3 cups of the mixture in the morning after it had cooked for 12 hours, before I turned it to high again to cook off the liquid. I have an oval crockpot so I turned the lid sideways so that the mix was halfway covered, so the butter still retained enough heat to keep a steady simmer. The second time I used mostly Jonathans and a few Galas. I used fresh nutmeg instead of cloves. The second batch has a much more complex taste, it has a richness I usually associate with butter. I don't know if it is the apple choice or what. All in all my advice to fellow cooks on this recipe is start with one cup of dark brown sugar (it has a much more complex taste than white sugar) and taste it before you take the lid off to make final adjustments. Makes a great Christmas gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOU2U1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was a fantastic recipe. Tastes just like the apple butter recipe that our family used to spend hours making in a big kettle outside over the fire. I did have to cook it longer in my slow cooker (more like 14 hours to get it nice and thick) but I think it was because I have a giant one and this recipe didn't fill it up. I will probably do a double batch next time for that reason. Also, I blended it a bit before putting it into jars to get it extra smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is outstanding when you follow the sugggestions and 1/2 the sugar and cinnamon. Big success, my daughter's teachers loved it and so did my friends at work. SO SIMPLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I am going to have to say it missed it but just a bit. I usually make a few batches of apple butter for my family around the holidays and decided to try a new recipe. after the first batch, I made a few changes. Too much sugar for so little apples. I cut it to 3 cups, and I put about 15 apples or so in. Other than that, This recipe is quick and easy and it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I used the half sugar, half cinnamon that others suggested. I also used an immersion blender after 12 hrs, then left the lid off for the another 1-2 hours to increase the thickness. I preserved in 8oz jars, using the boiling water bath method for 10 minutes. Recipe yielded 3 and 3/4 jars. I will be giving these to family and friends for Christmas gifts! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I'm giving this five stars because I'm so proud of myself for making homemade apple butter. I did leave out 1 cup of sugar (used 2 cups sugar and 1 cup brown sugar). I sprinkled in just a little bit of nutmeg. I only had to cook it for about 7 hours and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States