Apple Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This recipe was a disaster for me. I've tried many recipes from allrecipes, good and bad, and have never felt compelled to write a review until now. The taste isn't great and the consistency is like glue! I would never make this recipe again and instead would search for one with more description of how to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This recipe calls for too much sugar. I like to taste the different apples in my apple butter but the sugar in this recipe masks all that. I make over 200 pints of AB every fall and only use 1 1/2 -2 cups sugar for each 64 ounce batch of AB. I also follow the USDA guidelines for boiling water bath canning and leave a 1/4 in headspace at top of jar. If you are going to freeze this you would leave a little more space at the top, 1/2 in would be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nisswa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
very very good! this recipe was super easy! i followed the advice of the other reviews and cut the sugar in half. i then used half white and half brown sugar. it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I've now made 6 batches of this recipe and absolutely love it! I used some on ice cream while it was still warm and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was not too sweet. It is delectable! Will never use a different recipe again, thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
A very good recipe, but too sweet. I find that I don't have to sweeten preserves too much, especially apples. Instead of white sugar, I use a 1/4 cup of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Easy and wonderful- keeps for a couple weeks in the refrigerator if you don't can it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitchou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
SOOO Good! I've been looking for apple butter ,was so glad to find such an easy recipe! I used raw sugar( 1/2 the specified amount), and 1/2 the spices, as was suggested by other reviewers. Amazingly good! Mashed with a potato masher when it had cooled. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Have used this recipe for several years and it's a NO FAIL recipe. I've learned that a couple of hours before I take it off, I take an electric mixer and whip up any large pieces left and add a few Cinnamon Red Hots which improves the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
As it is, this would make a very good ice cream topping, or topping for some other sort of dessert. It is creamy, rich and very sweet. I made another batch with half the sugar and cinnamon, and it was much more versatile (for those of us that like our creamy sweets to stay in the dessert realm) and far less painful to sugar-sensitive teeth. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States