Apple Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was so simple in the crockpot! I used 12 medium Granny Smith apples (I wish the recipe would have suggested a type.) and less sugar and cinnamon as suggested by other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made two crockpot batches, and just filled it to the bring with apples. I agree with other posters that the sugar can definitely be cut down. First batch I used 3 1/2 cups of sugar and it was pretty sweet. The second batch I cut down to 3 cups, and it came out just right. House smells SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was a much easier way to make apple butter than the way I was taught (but don't tell my mom that!). The apple butter did remain lumpy in spite of constant stirring, though, so I ran it through a mill and that did the trick. I used my own preferences for spice amounts. Turned out great--I'll definitely be using this method again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
All I get is compliments. And it made my home smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My DH would always tell me about his grandma's apple butter, but I was not about to stand over a copper kettle all day long.I was happy when I found this slow cooker apple butter. I too reduced the sugar, and used 1/2 brown sugar. I started in the evening and when I woke I had the best smelling kitchen, we polished off a jar with toast for breakfast, canned the rest in a bath water. I think I have another recipe I will have to keep on making. He bought more apples for me, hint hint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Super delicious. I did have some trouble with the recipe: I cooked this for way longer than the recipe says, and the apples never thickened on their own. But that's probably the fault of my slow cooker - it's just really slow. I just eventually whirled the mixture in the blender for the perfect spreadable texture. The flavor was amazing! I did reduce the sugar a bit (my apples were already pretty sweet) and use part brown sugar. I also added a dash of allspice. This is one I'll definitely make again, even with the little bit of extra work of blending it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
WAY TOO SWEET, even on plain biscuits! I used 3 cups of sugar (1.5 white/1.5 brown) & nearly two bags of apples. I did like the simplicity of the recipe & the smell that filled my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkjanke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Wonderfully simple, but requires a few adjustments as noted in other reviews. Unless your apples are very tart, you'll need to reduce the sugar. My first batch used 3 cups and was still too sweet. Next batch I used 2 cups and it was wonderful. Also, I used twice as many apples and it still came out beautiful! It made 3 yummy pints size jars! Great for giving during the holidays! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Delicious! I used 1/2 red delicious apples and 1/2 gala apples, I also didn't use cloves and only used 1 cup white sugar and 2 cups brown. I cut the cinnamon in half and cooked on high for longer than the recipe required, but my crock pot cooks a bit slow even on high. I bought some freezer safe Ball jars and this recipe filled 5 medium jars. I'm not sure how long it will keep but, I am giving most of the jars away so I didn't bother searching on the internet to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EudailyFam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This recipe was absolutely wonderful! I used Red Rome apples that my husband and I picked fresh off a tree on our farm. The apples were a little under-ripe, so I added an extra 3/4 c. sugar in the recipe to make up for their tartness. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. While I was waiting for the butter to cook, I got online to read some reviews of the recipe, and I started to panic because so many of them said that the recipe was WAY too sweet and they were cutting the amount of sugar in HALF. And I had ADDED an EXTRA 3/4 c.?!?! Well, it turns out I had nothing to worry about--the apple butter was perfect. Sweet, but not too sweet. Perfect spreading consistency. Beautiful deep purplish red. Only regret was that this recipe only yielded 2 1/2 pints :( I will definitely be making another batch. TIP: At 10 hours, ladle the butter into a blender and blend for a few seconds to get out the lumps. Then return the butter to the crock pot, turn it back up to high, and leave the lid off so that it can thicken up. PERFECT RESULTS!!! YUUUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States