Apple Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I used the general idea that this recipe gave....8 apples, 1 cup white sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, 2 tbsp cinnamon. Thats it. Slow cooked for about 10 hours. PERFECT! Not overly sweet, super easy. Thanks for the idea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I made the same recipe but used pears - because I had them on hand. I used an immersion blender to make it smooth. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
No need to purchase apple butter any more! This was well worth the time and effort. I did find that it was too sweet and overly spicy for my personal taste, so I cooked and masked more plain apples and added during the cooking process. I didn't not add any salt either. I stored my batch in jelly jars for sharing with family. I'm tempted to get more apples and make a 2nd batch. House smelled so great while it was cooking too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Stadtmuller Gad
Home Town: Egg Harbor City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Excellent, but I tweaked the recipe after reading everyone's reviews. Here is what I did...not too sweet, not too spicy, just right. 12 Medium Apples 2 tsp Cinnamon 2 c. Brown Sugar 1/2 tsp. Allspice 1/4 tsp. Salt 1/4 tsp. Ground Cloves Definitely use a hand mixer toward the end, as it helps to smooth out the apple butter. The mixture tends to "shrink" as you cook it, so fill that Crockpot as full as you can! My crockpot cooks fast, even on a low setting. Took less than 8 hours from start to finish for me. (1 year old Rival "Smart" Crockpot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie3372

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I'm only giving this recipe 2 stars because the ingredient list is written poorly. There's no way you can make a proper batch of apple butter with only 8 apples. Especially when adding that much sugar! I used this as a guide along with many other recipes on here to get a proper recipe to our liking: 9 lbs granny smith apples cored, peeled and sliced, 2 cups sugar, 4 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp allspice, 1/4-1/2 cup water. Everything in crock on high (300 deg. F ) for 4 hours, stirring occasionally to prevent sticking. Use stick blender or food processor to blend to smooth consistency. Remove to jars, put on lids and process in water bath for 10 minutes. Check seals, tighten rings and store in cool dark place 8-12 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was pretty easy to make, even if it does take forever to get the right consistency! I wasn't sure if mine was going to come out right because I thought it was thin at first, but after leaving it in the fridge overnight, it's great! My daughter LOVED having some on her bread for lunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Delicious!! I've made about 5 batches and every batch has turned out well. I've canned mine. And it is so easy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I only gave this 3 stars for the simple fact that 4 cups of sugar is ridiculous. I used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it was still a little too sweet. Next time I will try 1 cup sugar. I used half granny smith and half gala apples. I also added nutmeg and allspice and 1 cup water. I cooked it on the stove instead of crockpot. It came out wonderful with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very easy, very tasty, and smelled fabulous all day long. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was so simple in the crockpot! I used 12 medium Granny Smith apples (I wish the recipe would have suggested a type.) and less sugar and cinnamon as suggested by other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States