Apple Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This recipe is so easy and so yummy! I made it in a few hours as my crockpot seems to work a lot faster than the norm. I boiled for 1 hour on high, stirred and let it cook on low for several hours while I made supper and went about my day. I did throw it into the blender and was worried about the consistancy, but after canning and leaving overnight, it was perfect. This has to be the best apple butter I have ever tasted. Used tart green apples and it came out perfect, not to sweet or over-powering - apple butter IS meant to go on toast. People that complained about the sweetness must be eating it right from the jar. Would have liked a more in depth explanation on how to store unused jars - refridgerate? cold room? Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I followed the directions exactly as stated and when I went to fill the jars all I had was a big gooey mess - not at all what apple butter is supposed to look like. It smelled good but it can not pass as apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I really like this recipe for it's simplicity. I did on the other hand make a few modifications. It is VERY sweet so I cut the sugar in half and squeezed in the juice of half a lemon. I also left the skin on the apples. After cooking I ran it through the food processor and it came out beautifully. My family and friends are raving over it. Thanks a bunch for a great recipe, Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ellabell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Way too much cinnamon. Also I didn't use any sugar, just a 1/2 cup of huney. I also used a few more apples. Very good with just a little less cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Loved it! Made enough to last all year. Real easy when you don't have much time to stand over a stove all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kipdm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This apple butter would have been too sweet with the allotted amount of sugar, just as the other users suggested, but I love cinnamon, so I kept that the same. I only added about a third of the sugar that the recipe suggested. It tasted like it had the right amount of sweetness to me (I like tart stuff), but it never thickened up like it should have. It was still delicious - I ate it kind of like applesauce, but it was much richer and more decadent. Maybe next time I will add some cornstarch for thickening, or maybe I should have cooked it longer? I don't know what I will do next time, I just know I liked the taste, and I will experiment to see if I can thicken it up while still keeping it less sweet. This recipe, however, is a good starting point, and a great idea for using excess apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
recipe was good--we took advice of several folks and cut sugar and cinnimon in half--slow cooked it for two days and then canned it. Came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This sure was easy. And no burns from superheated liquid splatters like when I made apple butter on the stove. I used 12 medium apples and 3 cups of sugar. Nearly filled my 3 quart crock pot in the beginning. I also added 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/8 teaspoon allspice. I removed the lid for the last couple hours to help thicken. Processed in a BWB for 10 minutes in half-pint jars. Tasted plenty sweet to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
This apple butter has a great flavor and a fabulous aroma. My house has never smelled more like "autumn." I do want to say, though, that this recipe is really sweet. Almost a little too sweet, and I even altered the recipe. I used 12 apples and 3 c. sugar. I think I would still use my 12/3 ratio next time, but use Granny Smith apples or another apple that is less sweet than the red delicious I used this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
this was good, but calls for too much sugar and cinnamon. so, i added an additional apple, halfed the sugar and cinnamon and it came out perfect! where i live it is very hard to find apple butter, so this recipe is definately a blessing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States