Apple Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Super easy and so tasty!! I am going to make this for Christmas gifts! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This is a really good recipe. I did not peel the apples. I put them in the blender after they cooked for awhile. I would do that again, the peel just turns into little pieces that you can't taste when it is on toast. I also cut the sugar in half. I decided that I could always add more later. Some apples are sweeter than others and I didn't know what people were using. I used McIntosh and it worked out well with half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynsma1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This is excellent! Cut the sugar back by 1 cup & subbed nutmeg for cloves (cuz i was out). Just hoping the neighbor's apple tree has enough for 1 more batch! My children ate it warm in a bowl straight out of the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I love this recipe! My kids and neighbor kids love it too!! I use half red and half green apples, and then cut the sugar down to just 2 cups. I also use a blender at the end just to smooth it out. It's easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Fantastic !! I added 1/2 tsp allspice and substituted 2 cups brown sugar for 2 of the white and at the 6 hour mark I added 1/4 cup of aged balsamic vinegar !!!! then used the stick blender, as suggested in another review. It was easy and fool proof as it was but for that extra "gourmet" feel go with the vinegar !!. Just a side note i served it warm over grilled pork chops, even the kids went nuts over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TROYANDMISSY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ocean City, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This is so easy and tastes so old-fashioned. I've also used this recipe and substituted pears and it also turned out wonderful. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
A good, basic recipe...I also cut the sugar and cinnamon in half, and pureed it in a blender after cooking. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I have used this recipe for the last 3 years and it is always a hit. So easy! I keep the skin on the apples and when they are all done cooking I ladle the mixture into the blender so it is smooth. Saves me that extra labor of peeling and chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This recipe has quickly become a family and gift giving favorite. I use a half red, cooking apples and half granny smiths. Then a stick blender toward the end of the process, kick up the heat to high again, just to get rid of any extra moisture. So delicious. Mini mason jars do the trick for gifts. Not sure how long it lasts (safely). But, I actually like it after it has been opened for a couple weeks (less sweet). Will probably just use less sugar next batch, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Great recipe! I love apple butter and have always made applesauce first than added my spices but I fellowed this recipe and it turned out wonderfully. I did let mine cook in the crockpot overnight and a whole day, just for the smell mainly. I was a bit nervous cause I thought it might be a bit to watery but after I processed it in my food processer it was perfect. It made 4pint jars. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States