Apple Butter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Tasty and not complicated. I only cooked on low for about 8 hours and it was done. Will use for Morning Glory Muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I used Heidi's suggestions. 16 medium apples, half Golden Delicious and half Gala. After 1 hour on high, I switched it to low for 14 hours, stirring about every 3. (So long because I went to bed. lol). A few seconds on blend in my blender, and poured it into 5, 14 oz. containers. Perfect, and not too sweet with that many apples and Heidi's measures of sugar and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Really enjoyed this recipe. I only had whole cloves on hand, so I popped a couple in...this worked fine, but as it simmers overnight, the cloves added a slight bitter taste. I'd recommend using the ground cloves, but in a pinch, add the whole cloves - but remove after the first hour or so. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I read the reviews first, and halved the sugar. So glad that I did! I also added that dash of nutmeg, and allspice, and it turned out wonderful, and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Turned out great. First time I made apple butter and it is great. Plan to make more for Christmas Gifts. I did have to use a hand blender to get smooth. Jar'd right up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was a very good recipe...however, you listed it as 8 apples...it should be 8 lbs apples....I used 8 lbs and it came out fantastic...not too sweet...I believe that is why others stated it was too sweet...they only used 8 apples!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe! I use it all the time! My kids and my whole family love it and people ask me to make it all the time. Great. Totally awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This turned out beautifully. I did however take the advice of a few of the reviewers and substitute brown sugar, decreasing the amount. I made a batch on the stove and the crock pot. Both turned out great, I used a blender to get a perfect consistency and canned all of it. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CROPPERSMITH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I incorporated the reviews w/ original recipe & this was amazing & so easy !! Filled my (7qt) crock pot w/ chopped apples, 2 c brn & 1 c white sugar, 3 t cinn, 1/2 t cloves, 1/8 t nutmeg 1/8 t allspice 1/8 t ginger a dash of salt & let it cook down, stirring occasionally. Used a stick blender & filled 8 (8oz) canning jars. Process 10 mins in BWB. What a great holiday gift :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States