Apple Butter Ham Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I glazed my Thanksgiving ham with this.. I didnt have the minced onion, so I left it out.. I had made All Day Apple Butter (recipe from this site). I also sliced up the ham, layed the slices in a pan and then put the sauce over it.. I baked it at 350 for about 35 minutes.. This turned out so yummy.. Made the ham taste fantastic.. I'm not a ham person at all, and usually skip the ham during Thanksgiving, but I ate more of the ham than the turkey this year.. Thank you for such a great recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This is the best glaze recipe!!! I served a ham for Christmas, and my sister-in-law hates ham. I came into the kitchen and I caught her sneaking a bite--she LIKES ham with this glaze on it!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECkate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shell Rock, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
OMG! This was the best ham I've ever made (DH said so and he's a meat and potatoes kinda guy). I had a 9.5lb shank that I covered with foil and cooked at 350 for 2.5 hours. Then, I made the glaze and removed the foil and lowered the temp to 325 and cooked for 1 hour. Talk about aromatic and juicy and tasty! DH said I can NOT lose the recipe!!!! Thank you!!! V
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Extremely good...Just keep re-glazing every 30 mins. OMG....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Awesome recipe. I had a 1/2 cup Apple butter in the fridge so when I when I found this recipe I decided to give it a try. I added two tablespoons brown sugar and a dash of ground cloves. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
yummmmmmm! this glaze compliments the ham beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdgengler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious! Before baking the ham, I studded the skin with whole cloves (about 15). When I made this glaze, I had to use cranberry instead of orange juice because that was what we had on hand. The ham smelled divine and tasted even better, and everyone gave rave reviews. I think I found my holiday ham glaze recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
My family and I loved this! It made our Thanksgiving Ham so good! My son said it beat the turkey!! :-) Though I used Onion Powder instead of onion flakes, which I thought was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Best glaze ever! Everyone loved it. I didn't use the dried onion, but I couldn't imagine that it would have been any better. I cooked my ham as directed and sliced it. I placed a layer of ham in the roasting pan and liberally brushed the glaze on, then another and so on. I poured the remaining glaze over the top layer and put it back in the over at 350 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimsontide2186

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sheffield, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Pickle Jean
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was very easy to make. I used the All-Day Apple butter as well. I wouldn't recommend using a smoked ham...I felt like the cmoked flavor over powered the apple flavor. The glaze by itself was wonderful and smelled delicious! I would recommend putting it on more than 30 minutes before your ham is finished (I used a 10 lb ham), and to broil it for 5-10 minutes to help caramelize the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Pickle Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States