Apple Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Turned out really good after all the suggestions. I added a little more flour, used crisco instead of butter, added pie spice, cut the sugar in half and added some vanilla extract. I used chocolate chips and cranberries instead. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I really liked this recipe... It was a unique cookie that made me fell like I was at home in the country. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Gale
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Super runny, I love this idea of using apple butter so I will keep trying. Maybe a bar would be better, the flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephS.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
these are wonderful, soft cookies! cannot go wrong with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These cookies turned out pretty good. I used a cup of whole wheat flour and only 1 tbs of milk. They didn't turn out flat at all and instead were quite fluffy. I think they could have used some additional flavor...maybe a little extra nutmeg or cinnamon but overall were pretty yummy, healthy, and easy to make. I think some people had trouble because they tried making the cookies too big. Directions say drop tsp amt of cookie dough onto sheet. Try making smaller cookies and they shouldn't spread out as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Omitting nuts can cause runny batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I actually started off baking cookies with a different recipe in mind so there were a few changes. I used approximately 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and 1/2 cup of toasted wheat germ in my cookies. I put in less sugar since I wanted to cut down on it, and I figured that the apple butter and the craisins would make up for it. I skipped the oats since I didn't have any, the salt because the butter was salted, and nuts because one of my sisters is allergic, and substituted raisins for craisins since I preferred it. The result: My parents loved it; my sister and I did not really like it. It was not too sweet but sweet enough due to the apple butter and craisins. The toasted wheat germ did add a certain flavor and texture to it that I thought was interesting. I'm not sure what it was but my cookie tasted more like bread than, well, a cookie. I did not have a problem with thin cookies. You can check my blog for a picture of how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I replaced the butter with shortening like prev reviews had mentioned. The cookies did not come out flat. They are delicous, the kids loved them and kept asking for more. The only problem i found was that they are a bit sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I used butter and the cookies turned out very flat and thin. Some of the other reviews said they used Crisco (which I don't usually cook or bake with) and said their cookies turned out better. I added more flour to the batter about half way through and they looked much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Pippitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I used 2/3 cup oatmeal,1 1/4 cup flour, no milk, 1/2 crisco & 1/2 butter. I also used can-apple butter, dried cranberrries and walnuts. I made sure to refridgerate batter til firm. They were just awsome and did not spread too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States