Apple Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Not sure how you're getting 36 bars unless they're bite sized. I didn't change the recipe at all (except didn't have any raisins) and they were very thin and dense but I liked them. Why are some cake-like and some not?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
These are really delicious! Great decadent treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I made this and did not frost or add any fruit as I handed it out to grand babies for a snack. Also I could not find my apple pie spice so just used cinnamon & ginger. Oh, and I always use more vanilla than is called for in the recipe. I can say that it was easy and popular with grandkids and parents, too. I will use my own homemade apple butter and add craisins next time I make it - which will be soon and often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kutterba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Silverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
These were not bad at all. Were generally liked well at our Thanksgiving. Good way to use up any excess apple butter you have around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustAGoodOlBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I tried this,left out the raisins but added Apple chopped instead. It was very moist but also very crumbly. The taste was good but I felt it was way too sweet for me. If I try again I will cut back on the sugar. I did make the icing .should have made 1/2 the amount ,I only used part o f It. It really can do without the icing.maybe powered sugar on top would dress it up a bit. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Tried these replacing raisins with cranberries because I am allergic to raisins. They were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I didn't have apple butter, but had pumpkin butter - so, used the entire small jar of the pumpkin butter instead and changed the "apple pie spice" to pumpkin spice (1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp ginger, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon). I also took the advice of another reviewer and placed in muffin pan (makes 12 medium muffins). It was awesome...I have the pickiest kids ever...and they couldn't get enough of it. It was like "Fall in your mouth" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made these as writen and the family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krazyforkookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Ewww...not good. Save your apple butter for toast, biscuits or scones. There are too many other great desserts out there to bother with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
these look like the best cookies ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea earl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States