Apple Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
These are great! I used a chopped granny smith apple instead of raisins and made the glaze with apple juice instead of the milk and vanilla. Very moist and apple-y. I also used muffin pans and reduced the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
These are easy and taste great. This is a very versatile recipe. Try making them usingpumpkin butter and pumpkin pie spice OR peach butter and cinnamon. I love fruit butters, so I'll definitely be making this more often, especially in the Fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
These are good. I like my bars moist, dense and chewy. To accomplish that in these bars, I substituted 2 Tbsp. of Egg Beaters for the egg and used only 1/4 tsp. of baking soda. That way the batter doesn't rise very much and the bars become more chewy. I doubled the powdered sugar and used 1/2 tsp. clear vanilla and 2 1/2 Tbsp. milk for the glaze. My daughter also liked them. These would be great for people that don't like or can't have chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this for a class party, and it was a big hit! Very moist and naturally sweet; not so much the overbearingly artificial sweetness that so many desserts have nowadays. Instead of raisins, I chopped up a granny smith apple into little bits and put that into the mix. My one teacher even said, "Now that's what I'm talking about!" when I gave him a piece, haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherlockian
Home Town: Camp Pendleton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I had never had apple butter before, but really wanted to try baking with it. I didn't use the raisins in the bars because my kids don't like them. After drizzling these with frosting, I sprinkled some with golden raisins, and I liked them much better with the raisins. If I were to make again, I would definitely add the raisins, or even craisins, into the batter. These were very moist, and even now into the 3rd day, they are very good, and my husband and I are enjoying them in our lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Delicious. Soft, tender cake, nicely spiced, quick and easy to whip up. I was a little leery of just throwing all the ingredients in together and beating as directed, but there was no problem. Nice, as it makes for easier cleanup. I followed this recipe but used half whole wheat flour and pumpkin butter along with pumpkin pie spice. I also left out the raisins. These truly don't need the glaze, but they are much prettier with it, so I just drizzled it on lightly. Thank you for sharing a great little recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Photo by desertpsrout
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Loved this! Tastes a lot like a spice cake. My fiance and I substituted an apple for the raisins and it was a nice touch. I don't have apple pie spice, so I added a combination of allspice, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg (basically homemade apple pie spice minus cardamom). Only change I'll make next time is using baking powder instead of baking soda so it won't rise as much (it would be less cakey this way). A lot of reviews say it doesn't need the glaze, but I think it added the perfect touch. Paired with some ice cream and coffee, it was a great end to a nice fall day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertpsrout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This recipe was a great way to use up some apple butter I found in my pantry. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins. My family thought they were ok, but we're more chocolate people. I took a batch to work and they went fast! I'm going to take another batch to work for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Moist and Yummy! I made a few changes only because of what I had/didn't have in the cupboard. Did not have raisins and had an overabundance of apple butter, so I added a full cup of apple butter. Didn't frost but baked in muffin pans and they were DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very apple spice tasting...great with the icing...nice fall flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States