Apple Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this for a class party, and it was a big hit! Very moist and naturally sweet; not so much the overbearingly artificial sweetness that so many desserts have nowadays. Instead of raisins, I chopped up a granny smith apple into little bits and put that into the mix. My one teacher even said, "Now that's what I'm talking about!" when I gave him a piece, haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie I.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camp Pendleton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very good but tasted more like gingerbread than apple. I even used more apple butter than called for to finish up the jar. Definitely a fall/winter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Moist and Yummy! I made a few changes only because of what I had/didn't have in the cupboard. Did not have raisins and had an overabundance of apple butter, so I added a full cup of apple butter. Didn't frost but baked in muffin pans and they were DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very apple spice tasting...great with the icing...nice fall flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I had never had apple butter before, but really wanted to try baking with it. I didn't use the raisins in the bars because my kids don't like them. After drizzling these with frosting, I sprinkled some with golden raisins, and I liked them much better with the raisins. If I were to make again, I would definitely add the raisins, or even craisins, into the batter. These were very moist, and even now into the 3rd day, they are very good, and my husband and I are enjoying them in our lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by desertpsrout
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Loved this! Tastes a lot like a spice cake. My fiance and I substituted an apple for the raisins and it was a nice touch. I don't have apple pie spice, so I added a combination of allspice, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg (basically homemade apple pie spice minus cardamom). Only change I'll make next time is using baking powder instead of baking soda so it won't rise as much (it would be less cakey this way). A lot of reviews say it doesn't need the glaze, but I think it added the perfect touch. Paired with some ice cream and coffee, it was a great end to a nice fall day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertpsrout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
These are good. I like my bars moist, dense and chewy. To accomplish that in these bars, I substituted 2 Tbsp. of Egg Beaters for the egg and used only 1/4 tsp. of baking soda. That way the batter doesn't rise very much and the bars become more chewy. I doubled the powdered sugar and used 1/2 tsp. clear vanilla and 2 1/2 Tbsp. milk for the glaze. My daughter also liked them. These would be great for people that don't like or can't have chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Wonderful! Reminded me a lot of gingerbread. Mine didn't crumble. Used no glaze. Used 6 T butter, 1 c white and 1/2 c wheat flour. Used 3 T of pureed butternut squash in place of rest of butter. Used 1/3 c white and 1/3 c brown sugar. Did not add raisins. Did not even last 24 hours in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsport, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
These just didn't work out, and I was really disappointed considering I spent money on apple butter just for this recipe.. I added chopped apple instead of raisins and they completely fell apart when I tried to cook them. I had to throw out half. They definitely taste fine, but are just too hard to eat. Maybe they'd be better in cookie form? Or maybe it was the chopped apples that caused a problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrispySugar
Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Couldn't wait to try this recipe. I tweaked it a bit, adding more apple butter, substituted pumpkin pie spice for the apple spice, added a tsp of cinnamon, and some craisins . Baked it in an 8X12 glass casserole dish, which I use for all my bar recipes for about 30 minutes at 335 degrees. Had to try one as soon as they had cooled somewhat. Yum. Packed some with no topping in the freezer to share with family, then made an icing of 1/2 cup heavy cream, whipped, to which I added sifted powdered sugar until it was the correct consistency. I had a partial package of butterscotch pudding on hand, so I whisked it with some skimmed milk, took about a tbsp of it and added to the whipped cream/conf. sugar mixture for flavor and reserved the remaining pudding for hubby's ice cream treat later on. The bars were great. Think next time, I might sprinkle some coconut on top the bars. A great Fall Treat with memories of apple butter, and jam always on the table at Grandma and Grandpa's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States