Apple Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
I have never been so embarassed of something that I have baked in my life, as with this cake! It was heavy, took forever to bake (no, my oven is not broken...) and people couldn't tell if it was banana or apple!!! Yuck! I tried one bite, and had to tell people that they should eat at their own risk.... I've made many, many GREAT recipes from this site, but this one is DEFINATELY NOT one of them!! Thumbs down all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This recipe was great! Everyone that tried it loved it. We didn't have any walnuts so I just took it out of the recipe.In the flour mixture, I added one tsp cinnamon which turned out really good. Another thing i changed was I added 3 cups of apples instead of 2. The last thing I did was instead of sprinkling the icing sugar on the cake, I added some water to it to make it into a simple icing and poured it over.It was a bit too sweet so i might bring down the sugar next time. I think this cake would also be better in 3 layers rather than 5 (put the whole apple mixture in the center) because it became a little too mushy where the apples were...though still very good. I might add raisons and walnuts next time I make it too. I also made this cake in a ring shaped pan which looked nice with the icing. This recipe was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This cake is fabulous. My husband is not big on sweets, but he begs me to bake this cake. I'm terrible about overbaking things, so I sprinkle sugar in the pan before pouring in the batter. It makes a sweet crust instead of dry cake! Extremely good with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
very nice. I cannot stress enough to mix the apples in with the cake mixture, and add at least 1 extra cup of apples. The texture of this cake is amazing, very smooth and fine, not crumbly or dry. A great buttery cake without butter, a great recipe for lactose intolerant people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This cake was quite good. I did make a few alterations to make it healthier. First I substituted in 1 cup of wheat flour, second I used fresh oj, third I used 1/2 c oil & 1/2 c applesauce. I also took one other suggestion from others and that was to use 1 cup sugar, and 1/2 cup +1-2 Tablesp. of brown sugar. The last thing I did was add in 1/2 tsp. of cloves to the apple mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
a good turnout!! however, the baking time is just perfect at 50 mins- one should definately check the cake after 50 mins.i thought 2 cups of sugar would be too sweet so i substituted it with 1 cup white sugar & 1/2 cup brown sugar & i'm glad i did. the cake was deliciously moist with a nice crunchy crust. definately worth the effort!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I needed a quick, easy apple cake recipe that used only staple ingredients that I had on hand. No sour cream or buttermilk, etc. This recipe uses only two apples but has wonderful apple aroma and flavor. I took it to a women's group and of all the desserts, they loved this cake the best. I was very surprised and thankful! The cake really was moist and flavorful. Be careful not to overbake. My edges were a little overdone, but the cake was still good. Perfect autumn harvest cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
Makes a delicious apple bundt cake. I omitted the nuts and added extra apples. Everyone loved it! mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
This recipe is delightful. *****+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
Extremely moist and delicious cake. I served the cake at work and received rave reviews. A definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States