Apple Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
A wonderful recipe that's worth every minute you spend making it! I added an extra cup of apples to the recipe and replaced the oil with no-sugar-added applesauce and greased/floured my pan with the powdered sugar for a crispy crust. I also stirred the apples in with the batter as opposed to layering them. With these changes, this cake, sliced into 36 slices (for breakfast accompaniments/minor dessert), this cake is only 105 calories per slice! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I baked this last nite because I had some apples lying around that no one was eating. I wanted a quick, no-thrills dessert. Unfortunately, that's exactly what this is. I know bundt cakes are notoriously bland, but this really hits ten on the bland scale. I think the oil was too much and ultimately destroyed this bundt. I even cut it down by 25%! But I think others were smarter to replace half w/ applesauce. Definitely do this! And, even though my icing is great and I made tons to pour over this, it still needs something more complex. The reviewer suggesting a caramel sauce sounded closer to what this will need to make it a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I used 3 cups of Granny Smith apples, 1.5 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1 tsp, and I used only 1 cup of brown sugar in place of the 2 cups of white, which was plenty sweet for me. I folded the apples and nuts in with the batter rather than layering them. I drizzled the cake with the caramel sauce recommended by another reviewer (1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 2 teaspoons milk, heated to a boil for 2 minutes). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fatneko
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I baked for 50 min and it was too long. i would start checking after 40 min. it is too dry after baking 50 min. I followed a reviewer's advice and used 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and it was still too sweet... Other people seemed to like it, but I would use even less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatneko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This recipe was great! I followed the advice of some of the others on here and just mixed in the apples. My husband doesn't like nuts, so I omitted the walnuts and added more apples. It was very easy to make-moist and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was tasty, though I thought the texture was a little dense. Next time I might try separating the eggs and beating up the whites to fold in. I substituted Applejack brandy for the OJ, and pecans for the walnuts, and cut back on the sugar just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was a disappointing recipe. It as good as we were hoping. It was plain & boring, the cake itself doesn't have much flavor. The only change I made was going with some other's suggestions of using white and brown sugar. It looked beautiful but just not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Me and the family really like it. I will use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is a great bundt cake! All my relatives request that I make it for family events and it never fails me! Yummy, yummy, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is a great cake. I had requests for another before the first got cold! Due to my own food sensitivities, I made a couple of adjustments. I replaced the oil with applesauce and used egg replacement instead of eggs. Still came out delish! I used a cameo apple and a braeburn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States