Apple Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
After reading most of the reviews on this recipe, I made the following modifications: Reduced the Baking Powder by 1/8tsp, added 1tsp Baking Soda and reduced the sugar by 1/4C and added 1/4C of brown sugar. I also sprinkled a little extra cinnamon into the batter. I used the 4 cups of apples recommended and mixed them into the batter instead of layering. The baking soda lightened the overall texture of the cake so it didn't have the heavy pound cake texture some people commented on. I also reduced the oven temp to 325 because my bundt pan is dark. It cooked for about 1 hour and 20 mins. It was a huge hit, my mother-in-law liked it so well she wants me to make one for her when she hosts her next Bridge game. My husband LOVED it, said it's his favorite apple dessert. We live in Denver and I didn't have any trouble with the altitude, will absolutely make this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! I was a little nervous when the cake came out a little dark on the edges, but it wasn't burned at all just a wonderful caramelized crust that kept the rest of the cake moist on the inside and a nice caramel crust on the outside. I served it at a meeting and everyone loved it. Definitely will make this every fall when we go apple picking from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYTESHADE74

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I used the helpful hints from reviewers, added 1 more cup of chopped apples along with cinnamon. I also sugared my bundt pan after spraying, this was a great suggestion. My needed to cook the full time, but turned out very good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
It i perfect, I made it for my decorative painting class last friday and I was a little anxious because of trying a new recipe but it turned out so well...I made another one today and it's almost entirely eaten...While pouring the batter into the pan I strongly recommend a sillicon spatula because the batter is really really thick...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denis83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was great! I used part applesauce and part oil, as well as some wheat flour. I also used 3 apples. I made some caramel frosting since I didn't have ice cream, and it turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I only put 1 1/2 cups of sugar and skipped vanilla and walnuts. Came out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
awesome recipe!! every one like it including me recommended with coffee in the mornig the only change i made was add about half an apple more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Didn't like it. Both of us said "Nope" in unision. Maybe, if you use applesauce instead of oil and put a brown sugar mix on the top. Okay, my first rating was a 1, but with the carmel sauce mixed with pecans the next day, I took it to work and several people stopped by to tell me how great it was. I didn't even get to re-taste it. I would still at least replace 1/2 cup apple sauce for the oil or used pie filling next time. Thanks for the recipe and Thanks for the suggestions for the carmel sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
yum! I made this for my husband's birthday. Used 1/2 cup brown sugar/ 1 c white sugar. Topped it with "drizzly white icing" and caramel ice cream topping. Will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-Jane Nash
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Pretty good cake ! I modified spices and added a little extra chopped apple. As it was made in a standard type cake pan without hole in the middle - it did take a long time to cook. This was even better the next day as the apples had released more moisture into the cake after it sat overnight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States