Apple Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
not impressed...not moist...flavorless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Sorry to say this cake is terrible. I've had it before and it was delicious, so I'm not sure what went wrong. I added the 2 cups apples as suggested and cut down on the sugar by 1/2 cup, and regret that I did that. However it was definitely overbaked at about 50 minutes. I did omit the nuts, too, so maybe that was the problem. It was dry, tasteless, and a bit oily. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This was a great recipe! I used somewhere around 4 cups of apples, you could use the 2 cups called for but I wanted to use up the apples I had. Perfect coffee cake, great density, awesome texture with a wonderfully crunchy outside. Will lighten this up next time with sugar subst. and applesauce for an anytime cake. Loved it and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcgregor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I was concerned that 2 cups of sugar would make the batter too sweet, but it's not. I made the recipe as is, and my cake turned out great. I think that I may experiment with less oil next time to try and make it a bit healthier. Maybe 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Wish I had read the reviews before trying this one. I agree with adding 3 CUPS APPLE TO BATTER. If you layer the apples and get too many positioned by the inside tube, it's mushy. Next time I bake it I'll go for half and half ideas others have proposed. I'm confident simply adding the apples into the batter will make a huge difference and then the cake will rate 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My Pot Luck
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I changed some of the ingredients and gave some additional thing too. I use 3 apples, peeled and sliced not cubed them. Rub em in with lotsa cinnamon powder & 3 T of Brown sugar. For healthy conscious i cut down the oil intake by replaced half of it with applesauce. It makes the cake more moist and light tough. I replaced OJ with AJ (Apple Juice) too..i think i more suitable than OJ. Last...i sprinkled some almond stick above the batter. And i made Butter Rum icing syrup to be spread on the warm cake....Splendid! Even my mother in law screamed soon after i gave her slices of this apple cake...DELICIOUS!! Forgot to tell that i only use 1 cup of white sugar..It still taste sweet in my mouth..Also i didn't use bundt pan for this recipe, i use 22cm round pan. And took more than 60 mins to bake. Make sure to check every 20 mins, use bamboo skewer insert in the cake, to see whether the batter are completely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Pot Luck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This cake wasn't bad, but it was too bland for my tastes... I probably won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This cake is great! My son absolutely loves it. The only changes I make is that I added a little more apple to it, and I make a simply glaze out of the powder sugar. For a change sometimes I put a little spray butter on it and warm it up. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Good cake. I used about 3 cups of apples and 1/2 AP flour and 1/2 Whole Wheat, 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. Will make this one again. Also used a butter rum glaze but think I will leave it off next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I baked this cake for a Christmas party at work (but left out the nuts), and nearly everyone had two or three slices. I just barely snagged a slice to take home to my husband. Even my supervisor, who hates cake, had three slices! It really blew everyone away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States