Apple Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This cake was scrumptious! I chopped up way too many apples, but they didn't go to waste (I added more than the recipe called for). The outside of the cake was just the right kind of "crispy", but the inside was moist, flavorful and delicious! I took it to BINGO as one of the desserts they serve (without trying it first -- bold move for me!). I thought there would be leftovers for me to take home, but I was wrong! I made another one the next day for the family. My kids loved it. Easy to make, and I saw another reviewer said something about mixing the apples into the batter. Next time I will do this. I didn't understand the need to "layer" batter, apples, batter, apples, etc. as it didn't look layered when I cut the cake. So next time, it all gets thrown together. Highly recommend this recipe. It's easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This recipe yields a wonderful cake. The only thing I did differently was that I didn't alternate layers instead I just mixed the apples with my batter and the result was amazing. I've already baked this cake a couple of times and I'm about to make another one because I have guests tonight and everyone's requesting this cake! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is fabulous. Per several other reviewers, I modified it as follows: 3 cups apples instead of 2; 1 1/2 cups of white sugar + 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 2 cups of white sugar; 1/2 cup oil + 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of 1 cup oil; omitted the walnuts; added 1 tsp of baking soda; and added 1/2 tsp allspice. I folded the apples into the mixture rather than layering and I baked for only 50 minutes. I sprinkled with powdered sugar and added the caramel icing (1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup butter, and 2 tsp milk and brought to boil for 2 minutes). Turned out perfect. I will sprinkle pan with white sugar next time instead of flour as suggested by another reviewer. Highly recommend trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
So this is my first review on allrecipes so I hope Ill make this review good. First off, I agree with everyone who said to use one cup of reg. sugar and 1/2 cup brown. I think next time I make this recipe I will even cut down even more on the sugar. What I did was mix diced strawberries and apples together, and i lined the bottom of the cake pan with sliced apples, and decorated the finished cake with sliced strawberries and frosting. It was a very good combination. I want to try making cupcakes out of them next time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I've been baking this cake (minus the walnuts-- we're not fans) with my mother since I was a little girl, and it's always been one of my favorites. We use more apples and cinnamon than are called for, and a bit less sugar. We've had the best luck using good, firm baking apples sliced to about a quarter inch thickness-- this makes them layer nicely and gives the finished cake a good appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kersey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very nice cake, I didn't give the recipe 5 stars because it calls to bake for 55 minutes minimum at 350 degrees. I baked in a high quality nordicware bundt pan I've used several times before successfully with an oven thermometer to ensure the oven is at the correct temperature. The cake was definitely overdone. I would check at 40 min next time and would definitely not bake for more than 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made the cake in a 9' x 9' as it was baking it kept growing "DO NOT USE A 9 X 9!'' go bigger. besides that problem the cake was so good that everyone said ''you have to do it again for Christmas" and here I am again looking up this recipe. thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valeriacespedes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Don't forget the baking powder!!! use about 2 1/2 large apples. Holy 1c oil.... half apple sauce was a good tip. Very sweet, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This apple cake is the best I have ever eaten. It is even better than my sister-in-laws and she sells her cakes around the holidays. I didn't add that many apples as I like to taste the cake also I added crushed pecans as I didn't have any walnuts. I love the taste and the texture of this cake. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bklein

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Loved this! I've made it twice already. I used other reviewers comments and chopped 3 cups (not 2) apples finely, split sugar to half white/half brown, split oil to half applesauce/half oil, and added a little bit of cloves. In my oven, 55 minutes was enough, so watch the timing carefully. I carefully greased and floured my Bundt pan. After cooling 15 minutes, it came out perfectly. I dusted it with powdered suger. I'll also note that it is even better on the second/third day!! Great for fall!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE

Displaying results 21-30 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States