Apple Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Mine did not turn out as moist as I would have liked it. But, that is not the recipe to blame. My family and our weekend visitor loved it. It went well with coffee. I will try not to overbake next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jereca74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Very moist with a crisp shell. Delicious flavor. Easy to make. I used pecans and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Excellent moist cake-made a few changes: Used 1 1/2 Cups white sugar and 1/2 cup Brown Sugar. 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp cloves. Mixed all ingredients in mixer except chopped Granny Smith apples.Folded apples and nuts in last. Made a butter rum glaze. 1/2 Cup Butter, 1/2 Cup Brown sugar, 1 tsp milk, 1 tsp Rum and mixed in small sauce pan, brought to a boil and poured over warm cake. Very delicious. Could be served with ice cream or a dollup of whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is a very moist cake. It 'could' have used a little more apple in it, as it cookes down, but then I'm not sure if it might turn out mushy in the end. I don't like to use as much oil as this recipe calls for so I split the oil with 1/2 applesauce (it was actually peach flavor). I stirred the apples into the batter as others suggested, and I added a dash of nutmeg for a little more zest. To be honest, I think it could use more cinnamon. Maybe another 1/2 tsp. It seemed on the bland side 'spice' wise - but that is because I love anything with cinnamon in it! I know some people don't like to be 'heavy' on the cinnamon - but I do! I topped the cooled cake with a glaze of : 1 1/2 C confectioners sugar, 1T butter melted, dash of popcorn salt and 2 1/2 T apple juice. Mixed the glaze and let it set up about an hour to let the butter firm up, then drizzled over the cake. The little extra flavor from the juice within the glaze adds a nice touch. The glaze isn't overly sweet, as the salt offsets the sweet, as does the apple so it comes out tasting like a sweet apple glaze. YUM! I can't wait to see what the folks at work think when I bring this in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEVANG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I love this cake and so do all my co-workers! It is so moist and rich that, in my opinion, doesn't need any icing. I serve it with a dollop of whip cream and a hot cup of coffee - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was wonderful! It was better the next day that day baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was good - although next time I think I'll take other reviews advice and fold the apples into the batter. I didn't like the way it look with the apples in layers. I used 1 cup splenda, 2/3 cup brown sugar and 1/2 applesauce/1/2 oil. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Excellent cake!! As others suggested, I folded the apples into the batter. I also added about 1/2 tsp nutmeg to the apples, omitted the walnuts (only because my dad dislikes them) and made a glaze for the top rather than dusting with powdered sugar. Turned out perfectly moist. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILSKA50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I made this yesterday for dessert. My family loved it! It was moist and not too sweet. I mixed the apples in with the rest of the batter and it came out perfect. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
The cake was really good...however, mine was burnt on the bottom (?). After I removed the burnt layer, it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States