Apple Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
I won't worry about whether this is a "brownie" or not because these moist bars are SO delicious! I'm glad to have found this recipe, it's one I've been looking for after tasting them at a potluck a while back. My husband would eat the entire pan! I chopped the apples rather than sliced, they distribute through the batter better in smaller pieces. I don't melt the butter, Ijust cream it with the sugar and beat in the egg. Don't be scared if the batter is stiff and it seems like it is mostly apples, that's how it is supposed to be and it will turn out fine. Also, when you take them out of the oven, sprinkle cinnamon sugar generously over the top...HEAVENLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
Very easy to make and tastes real good. I added a pinch of nutmeg, made it in cup cake alu foils and baked it for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
These brownies were the best I ever tasted Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
These are so good! I used granny smith apples, and the sweet vs. tart taste was perfect. I thought it was a little strange to add the apples before the dry ingredients but it did all come together with a little stirring. Next time, I think I will try adding the apples at the end though. My family all enjoyed these! I will also try these with applesauce in place of the butter, and cut some of the sugar to make these super healthy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
These were marvelous, very moist with just the right amount of spice. I followed the recipe exactly (but I only had two apples) and the brownies came out perfect. Thank-you BakerJim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
Delicious! I doubled the recipe and baked in a 9x13, cooking it until a toothpick came out clean like the recipe says. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I have made this recipe several times and it is a sure hit! Just had a few suggestions/modifications as follows: add 1 t vanilla, 1/2 t nutmeg, cut the apples (granny smith) into chunks instead of slices. Also top the batter with 3 T. softened butter, 1/3 brown sugar and 1/2 t cinnamon mixed together until crumbly. For me, it seemed to take closer to an hour to bake it Vs the 35 minutes stated in the recipe. Baker Jim, this is a wonderful recipe and thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
Easy to make, and when I took them to work, all my staff raved about them. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Ummm Ummm Good! I added a 1/4tsp mace and a sprinkle of nutmeg. This recipe is a hit and will make it again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghost Whisperer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I just made these for company on the weekend. Fabulous!! What a great recipe for fall - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States