Apple Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Nice to have a change in brownies and baked apples are good anyway. After reading reviews I did use 1/2 cinn 1/2 nutmeg. . wish i had remembered to substititue butter with applesauce. That is healthy but particularly a good idea for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I don't know if I'd call it a brownie, maybe an apple crisp, but it's really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan in Prague

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I didn't change a thing about the recipe, I made them as is this afternoon. My husband just got home and I fear I'll have to make another batch tonight, he loves them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My husband loves apple pie and anything that resembles apple pie is a close second. These were right up his alley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These brownies are overly sweet, and more apple than brownie. I thought that there were too many apples so I reduced the number to two, but the I realized that there is too little batter, not apples. Also, the amount of sugar should be reduced to set off the sweetness of the apples. Add half a teaspoonful more cinnamon to strengthen the taste and smell of cinammon.However, the taste of this brownie is very good and I shall make this again with said adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Found a solution for the more like a brownie version. I followed this recipe with a few minor adjustments - doubled the batch, 2.5 medium Granny Smith apples, a teaspoon of nutmeg and some dried cherries (about a half cup). I too as many others had to increase the backing time to 55-60 minutes. Started check at 45 minutes and the toothpick came out wet even at 60 minutes. But, after the dish sat over night, it did come out a bit more sturdy but still more like a cobbler than a brownie. Second try hit the mark. Creamed the butter with the sugar instead of melting. Added the eggs, dry ingredients and the apples and cherries last after combining all the others. This turns out more like a dough than a batter and baked for 35 minutes. Worked like a charm. Apple brownies that are sill moist but cut like a brownie. My test subjects liked both and I can use either depending on how I want to serve them. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I love these! I added raisins instead of walnuts though cause its what I had on hand. delightful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was quite tasty, but it hardly resembled a "brownie" at all. That is, the texture was very loose and cutting it into squares was a futile effort. I shared it at a meeting, and others said they liked it a lot; I had two small helpings myself. So I can recommend this as a tasty dessert - just expect it to be a bit messy when serving it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made these for a change from the usual chocolate desserts and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janccd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
so good! slightly decreased the sugar and used pecans since i didn't have walnuts. added nutmeg and vanilla as suggested. Husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States