Apple Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This had really good flavor, and was easily modified to be healthier without losing any good taste. As has been said by many reviewers though, this is much more an apple cake than a brownie. Still delicious, and I love the fact that you can swap out white flour for whole wheat, sub applesauce for butter, cut the sugar, and make endless healthy changes and still come up with a sweet treat that the kids will gobble down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I LOVE this recipe, I made a couple changes: I doubled it to use a 9x13 pan, I only used half the sugar and used raw sugar, I used half applesauce and half butter, added a tsp of vanilla, and only used half the apples and I diced them. It still took 35 min to bake and it is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I have made these many times, always as muffins. They take ca 25 min to bake. Do not underbake, they remain very gooey even when baked until quite dark golden brown. You must use paper to line the muffin tray as the brownies themselves served this way are not very attractive (hence only 4 stars) - but the taste and texture is phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I doubled the recipe based on other reviews but changed it up a little to make these healthier. I used 1 cup of trans fat free shortening, 1/2 cup sugar & 1 cup granulated Splenda - came out just fine. Baked for 45 min. Very good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lacycj18
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I made the batter and added the apples (which I chopped) at the end, baked in a cupcake tin, and they were incredibly moist and delicious! Not so much like a brownie (or blondie, which is why I give it a 4*) but still very good, I will def make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacycj18

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
These are so good!! I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and I omitted the walnuts. I cut my apples into cubes and left the skin on. Don't bake the apple brownies longer than 35 minutes! These will not taste good if you over bake them. I will be making these again soon. I think next time I might add cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is such a tasty and easy recipe! To me is more of a cake than a brownie, very, very moist. I reduced the sugar to ¾ cup and was enough for us, I don’t really like over sweet desserts. I also added ½ tsp vanilla extract and I didn’t add any walnuts because I didn’t have on hand. Next time I will use only half of the butter and some applesauce to cut on fat. Thank you BakerJim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
The finished texture of this dessert is more cake-like than brownie. That being said it was a good solid dessert. I doubled it to fit a 13 x 9 pan, but I only used 1 1/2 cups sugar when doubled. I ran out with 1/2 cup left of the all-purpose flour so I used wheat flour for the last 1/2 cup. I used a variety of apples that we had just picked that afternoon. I'm not a huge apple fan - but husband, son and parents thought these were wonderful hence the 5-star rating. Thanks BakerJim for sharing - I'm sure these will be made again during apple season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Tasty. Used 2 large apples. Added about 1/4 cup toffee chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These have a good flavor and were easy to throw together. I tried making these in mini muffin shapes. Fail! They don't look very pretty next time I will stick to making them in brownnie form! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States