Apple Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Mmm! I followed the recipe as stated and added a bit of vanilla and nutmeg as per other users' suggestion. Really good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
OMG, yum! These were a huge hit. They were so moist and delicious. I altered recipe slightly, but not much. I doubled all ingredients and baked in a 9x12 pyrex dish, because I don't do small food. LOL! I baked a few minutes longer to accomodate. I did not melt butter, but just creamed it. I also added a little extra spice, because I think these taste good in all apple/pumpkin recipes: dash of allspice, dash of cloves, and a LOT of ground nutmeg. I then sprinkeded a little cinimmon and sugar on top before baking. DELISH!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Pera Reznik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Yummy. Wait until they cool completely before you cut them or they will crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
These were fantastic, very delicious, I made exactly as written and my family gobbled them up definitely 5 stars! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Stroh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I had to give this a 4, only because I find that 1 tsp. of cinnamon is overbearing. I did use others advice and did not melt the butter. I made 2 batches, one with 1 tsp. of cinnamon and one with 1/2 tsp. Everyone enjoyed the one with 1/2 tsp. better. Other than that, they were a hit. I also made them in muffin pans and 25 mins. was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very tasty, but I would prefer chopping or grating the apples instead of slicing. In fact, even a good homemade sugarless chunky applesauce would work nicely - maybe add a little extra flour if it's too thin. We omitted the walnuts this time, but they would have gone great. Moist and delicious, and so easy - all I did was peel slice the apples, my seven year-old did the rest! Thanks, BakerJim - we really like these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
The first time I made these they ended up as a pile of delicious crumbs. Do not use "The Perfect Brownie" pan with this recipe. So recovering from that mess, I tried again. I used Granny Smith apples - grated in the food processor. Granny Smiths have a lot of moisture in them, so I added an extra 1/2 cup flour to get a good consistency (and some extra cinnamon and baking powder - but the baking powder was a mistake that ended up being fortunate). They are delicious and hold together. I'm using these as part of the refreshments for a party with 60-70 people, so I used mini muffin tins and baked them for 12-15 minutes. I doubled the recipe and got about 7 dozen little round apple brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I followed one reviewer's advice and creamed sugar and margarine, then added egg, some vanilla. Mixed the dry ingredients separately and added to wet. Then added nuts and apples. In all, it took about 75 minutes to bake through in my oven. Worth it in the end though, as they are very moist and made my too-sour apples taste delicious! Would half the cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is very similar to the apple pike recipe but I like this one a lot better. It smelled better while it was baking, looked better when it came out of the over, and I didnt have to make any adjustments to get it right, it followed the recipe exactly. Very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I always make a recipe exactly as it stands the first go 'round, and this one sure didn't turn out like expected. As is, the taste is absolutely excellent. It took me about 45 minutes to bake, and even then I had an overly-moist apple cake that had to be eaten in a bowl - definitely not a "brownie" or "blondie". It seems there are *way* too many apples in this (I used 3 medium Granny Smiths) - next time I'll double everything else or half the apples. There's not enough batter to hold it all together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States