Apple Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Very good. A little too soft maybe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Good flavor but way too moist. Not a brownie texture at all. Going to put back in the oven & see if it will dry out some. Won't make again unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I made the recipe as directed, and it is a very tasty apple cake, not much of an apple brownie. Thought it was good though, but definitely a consistency and sponginess of a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
These are SOOO good. I ate most of the pan. Be aware though, they're not really brownies. I'd call it more like "apple snack cake" or something like that. As someone else mentioned, I think I would cut the apples into chunks next time, not slices. I want to make them again, next time I'll try putting the vanilla in like someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I decided to try and make a gluten and dairy free version. I used quinoa flour, dairy free butter (and used less), used slightly less sugar, and it turned out great! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Doubled it, added nutmeg, then served it with warm caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream. Not a brownie or a bar; more like apple cake. But really delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Not a brownie in any way, shape, or form! I was really hoping for the texture of a brownie with the taste of an apple and this recipe let me down. The cooking time is way off as well. They were alright, but I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
What a tasty treat! I made a few tweaks of my own. I added vanilla like some others have suggested. I also sprinkled cinnamon on top before I stuck it in the oven. I used a 9x13 pan since I didn't have a 9x9 so the mixture was spread out more thinly. I let it bake for about 45-50 minutes. The texture came out more brownie-like in the fact that it didn't crumble in your hands, but the apple still made it moist. Wish I could give it more stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Excellent taste and it was hard to stop at just one "test" square. However, I found it to be a little underbaked, but that is likely my problem. I used convection, which is 25 degrees lower than conventional, and I doubled the recipe and used a 9x13 pan. Even though the toothpick came out clean after an hour, I find the "brownie" a little limp and crumbly, although moist at the same time. I chopped the apples like others suggested, so maybe my chunks were too big. Again though, it is VERY good. I will just cut my apples smaller next time and perhaps bake another 10 minutes or so. Thanks for the recipe BakerJim!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I would give this a 5 if it were actually a brownie. This is definitely more like a cake. I made mine in an 8x8 pan and the cooking time was perfect. I did make a few adjustments, subbed Strawberry Applesauce for the butter; I didn't use a full cup of sugar and will use even less next time, but I use sweet apples, Gala; I added twice the cinnamon, 2 tsp; no walnuts, a lil extra flour, 2 Tbs(roughly?), and added the apples last. It turned out amazing and I will make this again for sure ... with my changes! =D Thanks for the recipe and the reviews to help me make a great treat!! I might try a crumble topping next time since it is so close to a coffee cake! Great warmed up with coffee for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States