Apple Brine for Turkey the Night Before Cooking Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was my first time doing the brine thing.. I used this recipe with the addition of a little over a cup of brown sugar, and two bottles of beer, and left the garlic out.. oh, and a tablespoon each of dried sage, thyme and rosemary. So this is less about this exact recipe and more about the whole bringing thing.. IT WAS THE BEST TURKEY I HAVE EVER MADE!! MOIST, TASTY MEAT, YUMMY GRAVY WITH THE DRIPPINGS. I used a big enamel pot I have for canning to brine in. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was my first experience with brining a turkey, and this was fantastic. It was so easy, and it was a huge hit--everyone said it was the juciest turkey they ever had! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
THIS WORKED AWESOME FOR ME!! NO, YOUR TURKEY DOESN'T TASTE SWEET, NO YOUR TURKEY DOESN'T TASTE LIKE APPLES!! BUT YOUR TURKEY IS VERY JUICY!! I USED THIS RECIPE ALONG WITH "HOMESTYLE TURKEY, THE MICHIGANDER WAY" RECIPE, AND MY TURKEY WAS SO TENDER THAT HE COULD NOT BE MOVED- HIS WINGS FELL OFF IMMEDIATELY!! TRY IT, YOU'LL LIKE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I have no idea how this will make my turkey taste, but for those of you about to do this for your Thanksgiving, please learn from our mistakes! We used a Reynold's oven bag big enough for a turkey and learned a lot from our first experience. 1. Heat up the measured water, pour in the salt to dilute it then fridge the water to cool it off. 2. Place the bag in the cooler, add the ingredients, then the turkey. THE BAGS ARE NOT STRONG ENOUGH TO WITHSTAND A TRANSFER, TRUST ME! (We just got done cleaning up apple juice, garlic brine from our floor and surrounding cabinets! 3. And do NOT follow the advice of the person who suggested a garbage bag. As someone else pointed out, it's not food grade. Good luck and happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is the only way I will cook a turkey - I have made this for the past few years, and my entire extended family loves it. I do not use the garlic, I DO use a garbage bag, and I just put it in a container in the fridge long enough to hold it overnight. It somehow causes the turkey to cook an hour or so less, as well. The gravy is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Riverview, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
You can use a large (clean) garbage bag instead of a food storage bag and yes Kosher salt is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I love using this recipe! It never fails to make my turkeys moist. The Apple Juice is not meant to add apple flavor, no. (Perhaps using a few more quarts of apple juice (no water), and slicing some tart apples and adding them in would help if that is what you are aiming for.) ;)Hope you all enjoy, remember to gobble 'til you wobble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Godiva Goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Well after reading Godiva Goddess's review and finding out that it is not supposed to be apple-y, I have to change my rating and give it a 5. After all, my hubby did say it was the best turkey he's ever had! The turkey turned out moist and delicious. Rinse the turkey before you roast it and careful with the seasonings, it doesn't need much more salt! Thanks for the great recipe Godiva!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 51-58 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States