Apple Brine for Turkey the Night Before Cooking Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Easy recipe and makes the turkey extremely moist and wonderful! Encore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
We eat turkey frequently since it is inexpensive for our large family, so I wanted something a little different for the holidays. This did make a difference, not so much in the flavor, which was good, but the turkey was much more moist and it seemed to have a more intense taste. The leftovers were great in turkey and dumplings! One warning though, it makes a BIG diffrence in cooking time! My turkey was done a full hour before normal! I will use this recipe again and again. Just the cut in cooking time made it worth it to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was the best turkey I have ever made! I made 2 turkeys one the way I normally make it and the other with this brine every one ate this one more and loved it! Ive never brined a turkey before and was a little nervous about the apple but I will forever make my turkey's like this from now on! thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFFER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I put my turkey in a metal stock pot, and then I put the stock pot in the sink and filled it with cold water. Switch sinks occasionally to keep the sink full of cold water and ice. No bags, no ruined coolers...just yummy turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Caseyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Really makes for a great tasting turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Turkey was moist and delicious the next day. Will definitely do it again! I used 4 cans of apple juice concentrate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I loved this brine. I also stuffed the turkey with halved apples. My turkey was unbelievable juicy. I basted it with sweet Asian chili sauce. It was a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
So worth the tiny effort it takes to use this brine! Never have I tasted a more moist, tender turkey. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Use a Ziploc XL bag!! It fit my 23 lb turkey this Thanksgiving. I also placed the bag in the cooler first, dissolved the salt, then added all ingredients to the bag inside the cooler. I put the turkey in last along with the ice. I sealed the bag and it worked well. However, for the amount of work I put into this brining thing (which was new to me), my turkey was no different than what I would normally make. My guests thought the same. I usually roast my turkey in my Nesco roaster oven. I put melted butter on top, and season with just salt and pepper. I roast it breast side down and wait until it "caves in". Then I know that it is falling apart and done well. This is not good though if you want the picture perfect turkey to put on the table and carve. I do my "carving" ahead of time and put the platter of meat on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was a great first experience with brining, thank you. I did have a few "challenges" that newbies might learn from. First, we tried using an oven bag, but we noticed it was getting smaller. Yup...a leak. It was too thin for a large turkey (22 pounds), so we started over in a heavy-duty garbage bag (unscented) and took the risk on the "not food grade" suggestion. We tied the corners in knots first, which I suggest. It kept us from wasting space with the brine. I also think it should be noted that the ice does not go in the bag with the turkey. It goes in the cooler on the outside of the bag, right? The directions aren't clear about that, but it just made more sense to us. One rater noted that it cooks faster. That would explain it. I know mine was ready WAY ahead of time, but I thought it was because I was using a new electric roaster oven for the first time. I think this time I'll roast it at a lower temperature...maybe 300 then kick it up for the last 30 minutes to make sure we're getting hot enough. Thanks for a great brine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States