Apple Brine for Turkey the Night Before Cooking Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
While this made the turkey very nice and moist (plus I used an oven bag), I wasn't crazy about the subtle apple flavor. Since other reviewers said that they couldn't taste the apple, I went ahead and tried it. Actually, the flavor almost felt like apples that had been sitting too long. I was hoping the apple juice would add tenderization and moistness, and no flavor, but I was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
While garbage bags are large and strong enough, they are unfit for food because acids and fats in food leech out extremely harmful chemicals out of the plastic into the food. Just make sure the plastic is "food-grade" or "pharmaceutical-grade". These don't contain the harmful additives and are safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
excellent, i use a bucket, and line it with a food safe bag, most years i can put it on the back porch, as the weather is very cold overnight, the bucket makes it much easier to move and handle, than a cooler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I have not made this yet, I am going to. I would like to know how to cook this turkey the next day? How long, in what? I will be getting a 12-14lb bird. What brand of turkey do you use? Can a person use a Butterball bird?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I thought this was a fabulous way to use some of the 7 GALLONS of apple juice I inherited this fall. I used home pressed apple juice and it had a little bit of apple taste... I actually wish it would have been more. I wouldn't go out and buy apple juice just to make it. A regular brine is just as good. One day is not enough though... let it sit at least 2 if not 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nodak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I really didn't see any difference in my turkey after using this brine........too much trouble for little if any result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie's Best

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Made a great tasting turkey. The whole brining process was very awkward with a 20-lb turkey, no utility sink, and a full fridge, but that's not the recipe's fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is so delicious. I used this recipe for Thanksgiving and Christmas and all my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Juiciest turkey we've ever made thanks to this method. Looking forward to tryinh it with other meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Seriously th best and most moist turkey I've ever tasted, I got so many compliments! I had a bigger turkey so I had to increase the water but that was about it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States