Apple Brine for Turkey the Night Before Cooking Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
fantastic . let it sit for24 hrs. stuffed the turkey with apples and onions cooked on the Weber charcoal 22.5" kettle 1hr breast side down. turned over cooked for another 2 hrs. I got raves of it was the best turkey they had ever tasted. this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Tried this on chicken leg quarters. Delicious!!! Threw in some bay leaves & peppercorns. No ice cubes just cold water and cut the salt to less than 1/4 cup and put in the refrig overnite. Grilled a few & some in the oven uncovered. I liked it grilled but LOVED it baked. Everyone was raving about the best chicken they ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I used this for our past Thanksgiving turkey and is was so delicious I decided to try with cornish hens. They were delicious. The only thing I changed the second time around was to add a little rosemary to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is good. Very good actually. The only difference between this and my usual brine is that I put fresh rosemary, sage, and a couple bay leaves into the brine. I also use apple cider instead of apple juice and you can tell a huge difference. The cider has a more acidic nature. Its very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Yonkman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
moist no apple flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was the best tasting,melt in your mouth turkey I've ever had. I have a whole chicken soaking in this brine as I type....LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I've never brined a turkey before, so I don't have anything to compare this recipe to. All I can say is that the bird turned out wonderfully moist with a subtle flavor. So easy and very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Most moist turkey ever! Nice mild flavor. Not too salty, but I did not add any salt to the turkey before cooking. Used an oven bag for an 18 lb turkey. Cooked at 350. Was finished in 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was the best recipe for turkey that I have ever had. It was juicy, tender and down-right yummy. My husband and I were amazed that an XL-Zip lock bag could hold so much! One thing that I wish I had done was completely dissolve the kosher salt (not doing so resulted a slightly more salt flavor than we were use to). I used apple cider instead of apple juice and a whole head of garlic roughly chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springtown, Texas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Perfect! I don't use that much apple juice, just few cups. Hubby said the turkey looked like something from a magazine and didn't need gravy, it was so moist. I reduced the salt to 3/4 cup depending on the size of the turkey. I've made this 4 or 5 times now and it's always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States