Apple Brine for Turkey the Night Before Cooking Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was amazing! I used one of those turkey sized oven bags to brine mine overnight and then followed the recipe for Homestyle Turkey, the Michiganer way. Best turkey I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
2 yrs ive used it and 2 yrs my turkey is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This brine turned out great! The turkey had great flavor and was oh-so moist. I didn't find any brining bags in time, so I used a turkey baking bag. This worked, but be careful if you choose this route! We set the turkey (bagged) in a large tub before putting in the brine to avoid moving the delicate bag. This worked, but next time I'm looking harder for a brine bag!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
i was very afraid of ruining my dinner, this was by far the best turkey i have ever made. i also put turkey on the grill, this made it very moist, when it is usually dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
While this made the turkey very nice and moist (plus I used an oven bag), I wasn't crazy about the subtle apple flavor. Since other reviewers said that they couldn't taste the apple, I went ahead and tried it. Actually, the flavor almost felt like apples that had been sitting too long. I was hoping the apple juice would add tenderization and moistness, and no flavor, but I was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
While garbage bags are large and strong enough, they are unfit for food because acids and fats in food leech out extremely harmful chemicals out of the plastic into the food. Just make sure the plastic is "food-grade" or "pharmaceutical-grade". These don't contain the harmful additives and are safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
excellent, i use a bucket, and line it with a food safe bag, most years i can put it on the back porch, as the weather is very cold overnight, the bucket makes it much easier to move and handle, than a cooler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I have not made this yet, I am going to. I would like to know how to cook this turkey the next day? How long, in what? I will be getting a 12-14lb bird. What brand of turkey do you use? Can a person use a Butterball bird?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I thought this was a fabulous way to use some of the 7 GALLONS of apple juice I inherited this fall. I used home pressed apple juice and it had a little bit of apple taste... I actually wish it would have been more. I wouldn't go out and buy apple juice just to make it. A regular brine is just as good. One day is not enough though... let it sit at least 2 if not 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nodak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I really didn't see any difference in my turkey after using this brine........too much trouble for little if any result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie's Best

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States