Apple Brine for Turkey the Night Before Cooking Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Last Thanksgiving was the first year we tried brining a turkey. It was so good that we decided it was worth the effort & would do it again. This year we tried your apple juice brine recipe and it was fantastic! So moist and tender. My family loved it! {We also added the contents from a can of Mountain Dew to the turkey cavity---don't know if that did anything "extra" or not but we will do it again next year the same way because his year's turkey was perfect. Other reviewers stated that the apple juice brine does not give the turkey any apple-ly taste and that is true---but the turkey tasted FANTASTIC! Thanks for the great recipe---I definitely could not have done this without you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
i used this with a couple of changes. i added two diced gala apples, 2 naval oranges, 2 jumbo cloves of garlic instead of the 6, added 1/2 pint of whiskey, and stored in the fridge for 12 hours... i have to say i have never been more pleased with the flavor and juiciness of my bird.. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Best brine I've tried and the new family favorite. I use my canning kettle with no bag. It fits in the fridge that way and I don't have to mess with the ice. Everyone raves about my turkey when I use this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
love it very much! tweeted a little, but still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.b.bbq.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Troutdale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is so worth the effort! Followed another review and use along with the Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way recipe. It is Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Brady, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
fantastic . let it sit for24 hrs. stuffed the turkey with apples and onions cooked on the Weber charcoal 22.5" kettle 1hr breast side down. turned over cooked for another 2 hrs. I got raves of it was the best turkey they had ever tasted. this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Tried this on chicken leg quarters. Delicious!!! Threw in some bay leaves & peppercorns. No ice cubes just cold water and cut the salt to less than 1/4 cup and put in the refrig overnite. Grilled a few & some in the oven uncovered. I liked it grilled but LOVED it baked. Everyone was raving about the best chicken they ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I used this for our past Thanksgiving turkey and is was so delicious I decided to try with cornish hens. They were delicious. The only thing I changed the second time around was to add a little rosemary to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is good. Very good actually. The only difference between this and my usual brine is that I put fresh rosemary, sage, and a couple bay leaves into the brine. I also use apple cider instead of apple juice and you can tell a huge difference. The cider has a more acidic nature. Its very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellioja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States