Apple, Brie, and Walnut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I didn't change a thing and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This salad was a hit!.. I ate more of this than the other courses... Since you have a dressing option here, I picked another dressing from a recipe on this site and it was WONDERFUL (Deliciously Sweet Salad with Maple, nuts, etc..) I used about 4 string mozzarella sticks instead of the brie and it was great!.. I will make this often!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Easy and lovely salad! I changed the amount of balsamic vinaigrette, as I found 1/2 cup too much, so I added only 1/4 cup and it was just the right amount for our taste. Instead I added more brie and toasted walnuts. I recommend it to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escudete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Yummy! I do not like salad that is coated with dressing so I did not coat the apples and then the greens with the vinaigrette, but that is a personal preference. I used the balsamic vinaigrette spritzer dressing. I also did as another reviewer and toasted the nuts with a little bit of sugar. I used pecans because I have a ton of them. Very tasty salad and I would probably serve to guests. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
What a treat. And it is so pretty on the table. I have never used Brie cheese so that was an adventure. I found it very similar to cream cheese. I'm not sure I like the gooey-ness of the Brie on the salad. The rest of the salad was a sure hit with the family. It was light, not over powering and just very enjoyable. I used Blasamic Vinegrette Spritzer dressing. I made the salad a second time later in the week and with the few changes I made, it goes to the head of my recipe bos. I used fresh Mozzarella cheese slices and toasted pecans and macadamian nuts. I especially like the lightness of the dressing. This will show up at our table often and I would have no problem at all serving it to guests. I highly recommend this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
What a wonderful fall salad! I made this with dried cranberries in it as well, and it was equally delicious! It's a wonderful salad to serve when impressing company for dinner! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Photo by Cookie Momster
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This simple salad compares favorably with a similar one I had at an upscale steakhouse. The ingredients are well-balanced, and each of them brings something unique to the party. I splurged and used some cherry balsamic vinegarette that I had been saving. It was well worth it! I would definitely serve this salad to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Momster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Cabin, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Let me start by saying part of what makes this salad delicious is using a brie or camabert pair with the apples. It is I great combination. I realize it a little difficult to work with but so worth it. What I do is to cut the wheel into quarters and the just pinch small pieces of cheese with your fingers and drop it onto the salad. That way your not getting any of the rind, which can be tough or bitter, and you are not trying to battle with a knife & soft cheese. Whew, I feel better now. This is definitely a five star. I used Sesame Ginger dressing (newmans) and it paired great with the ingredients. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodeliciousCraig'sWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This salad was wonderful. It makes a great side dish to just about anything and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States