Apple, Brie, and Walnut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Let me start by saying part of what makes this salad delicious is using a brie or camabert pair with the apples. It is I great combination. I realize it a little difficult to work with but so worth it. What I do is to cut the wheel into quarters and the just pinch small pieces of cheese with your fingers and drop it onto the salad. That way your not getting any of the rind, which can be tough or bitter, and you are not trying to battle with a knife & soft cheese. Whew, I feel better now. This is definitely a five star. I used Sesame Ginger dressing (newmans) and it paired great with the ingredients. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
What a treat. And it is so pretty on the table. I have never used Brie cheese so that was an adventure. I found it very similar to cream cheese. I'm not sure I like the gooey-ness of the Brie on the salad. The rest of the salad was a sure hit with the family. It was light, not over powering and just very enjoyable. I used Blasamic Vinegrette Spritzer dressing. I made the salad a second time later in the week and with the few changes I made, it goes to the head of my recipe bos. I used fresh Mozzarella cheese slices and toasted pecans and macadamian nuts. I especially like the lightness of the dressing. This will show up at our table often and I would have no problem at all serving it to guests. I highly recommend this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This salad was enjoyable and a nice switch up from the norm. I tossed my apples in a bit of lemon to keep them from getting brown. Next time I will probably use a little less vinegar, since my greens were sort of swimming in it. While toasting the walnuts I added a few tsps of sugar and really enjoyed the sweet taste with the tang of the vinegar and tartness of the apples. Also added a few more walnuts than the recipe called for and didn't use all of the apples, but that is just personal taste. For sure a salad that I would serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by Cookie Momster
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This simple salad compares favorably with a similar one I had at an upscale steakhouse. The ingredients are well-balanced, and each of them brings something unique to the party. I splurged and used some cherry balsamic vinegarette that I had been saving. It was well worth it! I would definitely serve this salad to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Momster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Cabin, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I gave it 4 stars as is, but the second time I made it I used a maple vinagrette, and added some crisp bacon crumbled. I could have eaten the whole salad with a loaf of fresh crusty bread! That was a 5 star upgrade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIQUITA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
What a wonderful fall salad! I made this with dried cranberries in it as well, and it was equally delicious! It's a wonderful salad to serve when impressing company for dinner! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Easy and lovely salad! I changed the amount of balsamic vinaigrette, as I found 1/2 cup too much, so I added only 1/4 cup and it was just the right amount for our taste. Instead I added more brie and toasted walnuts. I recommend it to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escudete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Definitely worth trying, changing proportions to suit personal taste. A visually pleasing salad, the taste was very much dependent on the vinaigrette used. I chose the All Recipes' sweet & tangy Honey~Balsamic Vinaigrette (adding only 4 extra tsp. of oil to that). Because the dressing asked for was double the needed quantity, I can only give this salad 3 stars, as written; a small puddle of dressing remained even after halving it. I sliced thinly only 1 Gala apple, cutting the slices in thirds for ease of eating; proportionately, that was enough for the 5 c. baby lettuces used. The quantities of Brie (1/2 c.) & toasted walnuts (1/3 c.) remained the same as recipe called for; these provided a nice taste & texture contrast in the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Awesome salad! I tossed my apples with a little lemon (brown apples are not pretty). I also made my own balsamic vinaigrette. I prefer to cut the rind off brie whenever I use it in a salad. I love this and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quinnellope1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishop, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I didn't change a thing and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States