Apple, Brie, and Walnut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookie Momster
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This simple salad compares favorably with a similar one I had at an upscale steakhouse. The ingredients are well-balanced, and each of them brings something unique to the party. I splurged and used some cherry balsamic vinegarette that I had been saving. It was well worth it! I would definitely serve this salad to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Momster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Cabin, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This salad was enjoyable and a nice switch up from the norm. I tossed my apples in a bit of lemon to keep them from getting brown. Next time I will probably use a little less vinegar, since my greens were sort of swimming in it. While toasting the walnuts I added a few tsps of sugar and really enjoyed the sweet taste with the tang of the vinegar and tartness of the apples. Also added a few more walnuts than the recipe called for and didn't use all of the apples, but that is just personal taste. For sure a salad that I would serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Definitely worth trying, changing proportions to suit personal taste. A visually pleasing salad, the taste was very much dependent on the vinaigrette used. I chose the All Recipes' sweet & tangy Honey~Balsamic Vinaigrette (adding only 4 extra tsp. of oil to that). Because the dressing asked for was double the needed quantity, I can only give this salad 3 stars, as written; a small puddle of dressing remained even after halving it. I sliced thinly only 1 Gala apple, cutting the slices in thirds for ease of eating; proportionately, that was enough for the 5 c. baby lettuces used. The quantities of Brie (1/2 c.) & toasted walnuts (1/3 c.) remained the same as recipe called for; these provided a nice taste & texture contrast in the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Yummy! I do not like salad that is coated with dressing so I did not coat the apples and then the greens with the vinaigrette, but that is a personal preference. I used the balsamic vinaigrette spritzer dressing. I also did as another reviewer and toasted the nuts with a little bit of sugar. I used pecans because I have a ton of them. Very tasty salad and I would probably serve to guests. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Missy Anne
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I really enjoyed the appearance of this salad. I used pecans instead of walnuts (allergy,) and Kraft Light Balsamic Vinaigrette which I eyeballed instead of measured. I probably used only 1/8 of a cup. I had only had Brie a couple of times one from a French teacher, and once at the Louvre in France, so I'm not exactly an expert on it, I didn't like working with it as a cheese on a salad, it was difficult to "slice" and got gooey the more you worked with it. I think fresh mozzarella would be better. This was an easy quick salad to make, and I might make variations of it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This salad was a hit!.. I ate more of this than the other courses... Since you have a dressing option here, I picked another dressing from a recipe on this site and it was WONDERFUL (Deliciously Sweet Salad with Maple, nuts, etc..) I used about 4 string mozzarella sticks instead of the brie and it was great!.. I will make this often!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
What a treat. And it is so pretty on the table. I have never used Brie cheese so that was an adventure. I found it very similar to cream cheese. I'm not sure I like the gooey-ness of the Brie on the salad. The rest of the salad was a sure hit with the family. It was light, not over powering and just very enjoyable. I used Blasamic Vinegrette Spritzer dressing. I made the salad a second time later in the week and with the few changes I made, it goes to the head of my recipe bos. I used fresh Mozzarella cheese slices and toasted pecans and macadamian nuts. I especially like the lightness of the dressing. This will show up at our table often and I would have no problem at all serving it to guests. I highly recommend this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very nice. I would try it with a nice poppy seed dressing as well. I think that would pair well with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Let me start by saying part of what makes this salad delicious is using a brie or camabert pair with the apples. It is I great combination. I realize it a little difficult to work with but so worth it. What I do is to cut the wheel into quarters and the just pinch small pieces of cheese with your fingers and drop it onto the salad. That way your not getting any of the rind, which can be tough or bitter, and you are not trying to battle with a knife & soft cheese. Whew, I feel better now. This is definitely a five star. I used Sesame Ginger dressing (newmans) and it paired great with the ingredients. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was a good salad. I threw the brie in the freezer for a bit before chopping it, as some of the other reviews warned that it is a bit hard to handle when warmer. Left the rind on as well. Used green apples and spring mix and it turned out nicely. A salad is only as good as the dressing, in many cases though, so make sure you use a vinigrette you know and love. I was in a pinch so used Wishbone, but I like my homemade version much better. Might even recommend just using a nice syrupy aged balsamic with a splash of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States