Apple Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I followed the advice of a few of the other commenters below and subbed brown sugar for half the white sugar. The bread is sweet without being overwhelming, moist and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
unfortunately dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Pretty good, just remember to chop the apples really fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Good recipe. I did use suggestion from others and used half brown and white sugar, half oil half butter, and nutmeg instead of cloves, although I'm not sure how much effect it has. Might try just as written next time. I baked in two smaller loaf pans and reduced the time to 45min. Also thought a crumb top would be good so I mixed a butter, sugar, flour crumb topping and put it on before baking. Came out great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Loved it! I added an extra apple, used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, and substituted nutmeg for cloves. Very delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Excellent base recipe. I had ripe pears on hand, so used them (with the skin on), nixxed the spices, added a dash of nutmeg and 1 tsp vanilla. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Enjoyed this apple bread but agree with previous comments that adding part brown sugar would improve it. As well, I think it needs some vegetable oil or perhaps sour cream to moisten the bread. I didn't have cloves so used nutmeg instead. I wish that I had used more cinnamon as well to increase the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was delicious! I followed some of the other reviews as well - used just half a stick of butter and 1/4 cup oil. Added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and ginger powder. I was going to add a third apple, but when I went to mix it in, there was plenty with just 2 apples as stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I used half white sugar and half brown sugar as suggested by some reviewers. Shredded the apples instead of chopped. This smelled so wonderful while baking! Served warm with Cinnabutter from this site; I could eat the whole thing myself!! I may try to use this to make muffins next time. Thank you Jennifer for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Smelled great while cooking. Dry and no recognizable apple taste. I will try to make it once more with more apples and some oil to improve the apple taste and moistness. I would not make it again as the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States