Apple Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was very good. I made it while on vacation and didn't have any cooking oil on hand, which i usually use when making quick bread. I did have butter, sugar, flour and apples from Wisconsin though. And this bread was the perfect treat! I made it exactly as directed, except omitting the cloves because I didn't have any. I didn't find it dry at all. It was nice and moist. I used Cortland apples and cut them chunky. I also cut the recipe in half to make two small mini loaves. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I will DEFINITELY make this again! First time to make it modifications: added 2 tbsp oil, 1/2 c. crushed walnuts, 1/2 c. crushed pecans, nutmeg instead of cloves, half brown/half white sugar, grated apples, topped with whole walnuts and pecans to make it pretty. Next time, I'll do the same thing, but add 1-2 more grated apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brianne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I've made this recipe 3x in the last 2 weeks! My husband and toddler are both big fans. I reduced the amount of cloves used to 1/4 tsp (personal preference) and used half light brown sugar, half white sugar. I shredded the apples and was very pleased with the amount of juice rendered; it helped the stir-ability of the batter considerably!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Ok! So I have tried the bread....LOVELY and if I cannot improve the texture be any more moist, I am STILL keeping it and making it a constant in this home. Am going to try to try some of the other reviewers ideas for moistness but this bread in no way is a disappointment. FABULOUS new family fall tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I have made this twice in a week and a half time frame! It is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I followed the advice of a few of the other commenters below and subbed brown sugar for half the white sugar. The bread is sweet without being overwhelming, moist and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
unfortunately dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Pretty good, just remember to chop the apples really fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Good recipe. I did use suggestion from others and used half brown and white sugar, half oil half butter, and nutmeg instead of cloves, although I'm not sure how much effect it has. Might try just as written next time. I baked in two smaller loaf pans and reduced the time to 45min. Also thought a crumb top would be good so I mixed a butter, sugar, flour crumb topping and put it on before baking. Came out great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Loved it! I added an extra apple, used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, and substituted nutmeg for cloves. Very delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States