Apple Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very good, dense bread. I substituted half white and half brown sugar, and I also substituted nutmeg for the cloves since I don't like cloves. Great flavor and texture. I left the apples about 1/2" big so the bread has fabulous chunks of apple through it. I also added a few pecans for added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Very tasty, easy and smells good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Delish. I followed the suggestions of others and added some additional spices and I shredded my apples. Definitley a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Soooo yummy! i really liked this bread it was nice and moist and crumbly with a chewy/crunchy crust! made the house smell wonderful too. I added about 2 tblsp of oil and did 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white and i also grated the granny smith apples to get a more overall apple taste rather than just chunks. I also removed the bread immediately from the pan. if i had left it in it would've burned. would definitely make again and would recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Great simple recipe! My family gobbles it up. The only thing I changed was substituting nutmeg for the cloves because I prefer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I didn't have a bread pan so I used a muffin tin. I also left out the cloves, because I didn't have any. I made muffins as is and also made some with walnuts and some with chocolate. They turned out great. Next time if I made the muffins, I would mince the apples instead of chopping them. I made the muffins the night before and ate them for breakfast the next day and they tasted even better in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as I always do the 1st time so I can give it an accurate rating. It turned out really dry. Can barely stand eating a bite with out taking a sip of milk. Some previous reviewers suggested grating the apples instead of simply dicing them. This may help but I'm sceptical that that would make the big difference that was needed. I may try the recipe one more time and try adding some buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
The only change I made was half brown sugar and half regular. Was wonderful, and will make it over and over again. Thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I was looking for a quick recipe for breakfast, and found this one.... thank Goodness! It is delicious! I used 3/4 brown sugar (no white), and next time I think I will add another apple (I shredded them right in to the batter, so the apples and juice were added). Also, I checked the batter at 45 min, and the middle was a little soggy, but it only needed another 5 min to complete. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I thought this was great, just made a few changes! For those that want to make a healthy version: I made this bread with 1/4 cup canola oil, with just over 1/4 cup applesauce to make up the rest of the fat. I used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of rolled oats. I also reduced the sugar to 3/4 cups with a ratio of 2:1 brown sugar to white sugar. At the end I thought it was too sweet as the applesauce and the apples I used lended quite a bit of sugar. Next time I will reduce to only half a cup of brown sugar. I also grated the apples instead of chopped and added 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts at the end. I will DEFINITELY make this again. It was moist, chunky, delicious!! You can't tell there's less fat and the whole wheat flour and oats were perfect. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States