Apple Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe. Will make again and again. I substituted nutmeg for the ground cloves, added a teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil, used half white and half brown sugar and my apple of choice was golden delicious which I shredded. I would also suggest monitoring the baking time, as others mentioned it was ready in less than an hour. Check after 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was excellent! I used half brown, half white sugar, and I added two tbsp canola oil. Mine was done in about 50 minutes. Next time I will double the cinnamon, and maybe add some vanilla extract, as this is a very mild flavored bread. Great for breakfast or with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe, especially when you're looking to use up all of the apples you pick during the fall. I followed it exactly, perhaps adding a bit more cinnamon, and it was really delicious and moist. A definite keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, 1/2 tsp of ginger, no cloves, and used just 3/4 cup of brown sugar, a sprinkle of stevia and 2 Tbsp of agave. Substituted 1/2 cup of wheat flour, added 2 Tbsp of oil and made them into 18 muffins. Baked for 17 minutes and WOW! What a delight! My kids all said I should have made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This bread is pretty tasty and perfect for an autumn breakfast. Like the other reviewers I, too, made a couple slight changes. I shredded the apples, left out the cloves, doubled the cinnamon, AND I added a tsp of ground Tahitian vanilla bean (from Williams Sonoma), which really made the bread wonderful. Regular vanilla bean or even some extract would probably work too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Love it, it's perfect during the fall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
As usual most recipes have too long baking time, this does not take a hour to bake it would be a dry rock in a hour. Check bread at 35 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I used some of the previous suggestions, like adding brown sugar, shredding some apples and decreasing the baking time, but in my opinion this bread is nothing special. I baked it only until it tested done, and it was still dry. It needed more apples and more spices. Overall I found it bland and I won't be making it again. My pumpkin and banana bread recipes are too good and this one just doesn't measure up. Definitely disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is excellent! I made it as is (with the exception of grating the apples) and it was wonderful. I made a few changes the second time (added nutmeg, used half brown and half white sugar) and it was even better. Either way, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Good bread and moist. Made the following changes as suggested by other reviewers. Changed out cloves for pumpkin pie spice, added 2 tablespoons olive oil and used my cuisinart to dice up the apples. Was a hit at my gathering and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States