Apple Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I've made this recipe 3x in the last 2 weeks! My husband and toddler are both big fans. I reduced the amount of cloves used to 1/4 tsp (personal preference) and used half light brown sugar, half white sugar. I shredded the apples and was very pleased with the amount of juice rendered; it helped the stir-ability of the batter considerably!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Ok! So I have tried the bread....LOVELY and if I cannot improve the texture be any more moist, I am STILL keeping it and making it a constant in this home. Am going to try to try some of the other reviewers ideas for moistness but this bread in no way is a disappointment. FABULOUS new family fall tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I have made this twice in a week and a half time frame! It is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I followed the advice of a few of the other commenters below and subbed brown sugar for half the white sugar. The bread is sweet without being overwhelming, moist and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
unfortunately dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Pretty good, just remember to chop the apples really fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Good recipe. I did use suggestion from others and used half brown and white sugar, half oil half butter, and nutmeg instead of cloves, although I'm not sure how much effect it has. Might try just as written next time. I baked in two smaller loaf pans and reduced the time to 45min. Also thought a crumb top would be good so I mixed a butter, sugar, flour crumb topping and put it on before baking. Came out great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Loved it! I added an extra apple, used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, and substituted nutmeg for cloves. Very delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Excellent base recipe. I had ripe pears on hand, so used them (with the skin on), nixxed the spices, added a dash of nutmeg and 1 tsp vanilla. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Enjoyed this apple bread but agree with previous comments that adding part brown sugar would improve it. As well, I think it needs some vegetable oil or perhaps sour cream to moisten the bread. I didn't have cloves so used nutmeg instead. I wish that I had used more cinnamon as well to increase the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States