Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I've made this twice, once following the instructions and the second with my own additions. I thought it was a little bland so I used apples that were coated in cinnamon/sugar, 1/4c oil and 1/4c cinnamon applesauce, and a splash of cider because my batter was super thick. I also used 1/2c whole wheat flour, 1c bread flour, and 1 1/2c AP flour and topped with with about 1/16c cinnamon/sugar mixture per loaf. Turned out to be uch more of a sweet bread- can't get my co-workers out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I halved this recipe. I increased both the baking soda, baking powder and vanilla extract in this recipe to full teaspoons. I added a quarter cup of unsweetened applesauce only because some of the reviewer's had mentioned that the recipe was a bit on the dry side without some kind of additional liquid. I made muffins out of this recipe, getting exactly 12 out of one recipe. Before baking, I sprinkled a little cinnamon-sugar over the top of each muffin. I baked them at 350* for 20 minutes. I'm really glad I added the applesauce--if I hadn't these really would have been dry. My husband and kids ate all 12 this morning, either for breakfast or packed in bag lunches and they all commented that they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I made a healthier and vegan friendly version by using whole wheat flour, raw sugar reduced to 1.5 cups, 2T ground flaxseed + 6T water substituted for eggs, instead of nuts I used 1 cup of raisins that had been soaked a few minutes in boiling water, sea salt instead of ionized salt, and 1/2 cup of organic applesauce in place of the oil. The dough seemed a bit dry, so I added a splash of soy milk. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I made this just as it said and the batter was not getting moist enough, so I added 1/3 cup of natural yogurt and it was DELICIOUS. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This bread came out too dry like it needed more oil but other than that it was quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aphrodite18

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kingsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Wow! That was good bread! I used applesauce instead of oil, and used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar. It was excellent! Froze one loaf, and it still tasted great after defrosting! Next time I'll omit 1/4 cup of the brown sugar because it was plenty sweet. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Once baked, this bread is very heavy and dense. The flavors are just not there. I will not make this bread again, there are too many other good bread recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Really good overall but too sweet for me so I will decrease sugar( esp if following reviews with substituting applesauce since that may also sweeten it more). I got a nice moist cake by using 1/2 c applesauce and 1/3 c vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I added 3/4 cup of additional chopped apples... used sauce instead of oil... and no nuts (for company's sake)... baked in a 9x13" 'til toothpick came out clean and edges started to pull away(about 30-35 minutes)... YUMMY =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trtlflwrs

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Yum, yum, yummy! I rarely get a whole piece! I found with this batter, it comes out wonderfully when I pour it in 1 brownie pan rather than a 2 loaf pans. It seems to have more room to "grow". At any rate, I make it. They eat it. Everyone is happy with the yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Anne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States