Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I made a few changes that I read in reviews: 1/2 brown, 1/2 white sugar. I used 1/2 cup oil & 1/2 cup applesauce and I added some nutmeg. This is the best thing I've ver made. The 1st 2 were so good I made 2 more right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Was looking for a recipe that didn't need butter since I only had 3tb and found this. Was running back and forth from the computer to the kitchen and ended up missing the cinnamon. Didn't really read the reviews so also missed the vanilla additions, etc. Not only was it good anyway, I used the last of the apples, sautéed them in the little butter that I did have and brown sugar, added cornstarch to thicken and poured it over the top, letting it sit. I loved it! My boyfriend didn't care for it that much, so I took it to work to avoid eating the other two thirds all by myself. Put it in the break-room and it was GONE! Was really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
What a great apple bread recipe. I used half white and brown sugar ( not quite a full cup)Next time I will add vanilla extract. I used my chopper from pampered chef for the apples. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arubagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Huge hit with my coworkers. They even offered to pay me to make it again! I did make changes though. I thought 2 cups of sugar was excessive (which is why it only got 4 stars) and used closer to 1 1/4 cups. I also used only 1/2 cup oil and substituted 1/2 cup applesauce. I omitted the walnuts and didn't really measure the apples, it may have been closer to 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
OK. A LITTLE DRY, TRY GRATING SOME OF THE APPLES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I used almost 4 cups chopped apples, about 3/4 the oil, and only 1 cup sugar. Added a splash of milk to add moisture while mixing (probably because of the less oil I used). Also used 3/4 c chopped walnuts, and added a sprinkling of nutmeg & cloves. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Love it! Might add an extra egg, and also gotta grease those loaf pans really well or the bottom sticks. I personally enjoy nutmeg and vanilla extract added as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
It turned out great the only thing I changed was I added 1 teaspoon vanilla . it is delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Woodcock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Amazing bread! I gave it to the Chef at my job who said "this is one of the best things I've ever eaten. Seriously, bread wise it's #1". I did make some minor adjustments as well. Used 1/2 brown sugar and a generous teaspoon of vanilla. About 10 mins before I took it out i spread a butter/cinnamon sugar mixture over the top (generous) and let bake the rest of the way. Already made 3 loaves and by demand of my husband "never stop making this".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe calls for way too much sugar. Made it twice.. The first time I made as written... I found that besides the overpowering sweetness it wasn't very flavorful at all. I'm not impressed. The second time around I followed Jillian's suggestions, however, I scaled down the sugar to about a cup and a half.. Next time I'll only use one cup of sugar total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States