Apple Bran Cheddar Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
This was a really easy recipie to make. My 5 year old, who is really picky, didn't like the way they looked, but said that they tasted good on the bottom. I guess the top looked too "ugly". I would definatly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Wonderfully different and delicious with a few changes (they def need more liquid!), similar to what the first reviewer wrote. I used 1 cup milk, shredded the apple, used 2/3 cup melted real butter instead of the veg oil, used 1 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup white flour (instead of all white), 1 cup cheddar and added about 2/3 cup of chopped walnuts. With all of these changes, it made too much for one batch, so I split it in 2 batches. My boyfriend and I LOVE them and these will definitely be made again! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
My boys like these. They are great with milk, (they are a little dry). Next time, I will add more apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
I grated the apples for this recipe my co-workers loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Very Good! Batter was a little dry and I will change the ingredients according to last reviewer but this is a great healthy treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
i loved it and so did the kids i feed at the breakfast club....yes i had to add more milk about a cup....but it was fabuloussssssss...thanks Leslie usher-canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Made with extra 1 cup cheddar & no cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Woah, some of you are being too harsh. These are muffins, not cupcakes. I added a bit more apples and a little more milk. My bf and father loved them since they were not too sweet. Drizzling honey over the muffins adds the perfect touch of added sweetness without compromising the recipe. Next time I will add more cheese, less sugar and continue with the honey. If your muffins are bland, remember when you add more of bland ingredients (such as milk, water, baking powder, etc) you need to add more savory/sweet ingredients (salt if you have more cheese, sugar/cinnamon if you add more apples). Just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
I'm an amateur cook and this looked easier than it was. Definitely worth the effort if you like bran - YUM! Could probably use more cheese in recipe and I had to add a little water while mixing, but the cinnamon/br. sugar is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTENHIPS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This is a good recipe that just needs a few adjustments. First, the batter is too dry and reduced flour or extra milk does the trick. Personally, as the recipe stands I think there is no point in adding cheddar, as it is drowned out by the cinnamon and brown sugar. If you want afternoon apple bran cheddar muffins, reduce the cinnamon and sugar, and increase the amount of cheddar. If you sweet apple cinnamon bran muffins, leave out the cheddar... Thanks for this recipe, its a great place to start and ends up with many potential great outcomes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States