Apple Bran Cheddar Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2000
I grated the apples for this recipe my co-workers loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
I'm an amateur cook and this looked easier than it was. Definitely worth the effort if you like bran - YUM! Could probably use more cheese in recipe and I had to add a little water while mixing, but the cinnamon/br. sugar is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTENHIPS

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
There needs to be more liquid in this recipe-I was somewhat dissappointed in the overall flavor-maybe more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
This was a really easy recipie to make. My 5 year old, who is really picky, didn't like the way they looked, but said that they tasted good on the bottom. I guess the top looked too "ugly". I would definatly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
I found the mixture dry and had to add additional milk. Not very flavorful. Would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I couldn't believe the instructions said to "pour" the batter into the muffin tins -- it was so dry I had to add almost a cup of milk. The result was tasteless and bland. I threw out 11 of the 12 muffins and will not be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Batter was extremely dry + muffins were tasteless. Also, muffins barely rised despite the high amount of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I agree with most of the other reviews about the dryness. I added more milk and oil so that the flavor didn't go away. My five year old loves them. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Muffin batter very dry, could not incorporate the dry ingredients as the bran soaked up all the milk. I increased the milk to 1 c., the oil to 2/3 c., the cheese to 1 c. and the cinnamon to 1.5 tsp. I also added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. Will use this recipe again with these improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Wonderfully different and delicious with a few changes (they def need more liquid!), similar to what the first reviewer wrote. I used 1 cup milk, shredded the apple, used 2/3 cup melted real butter instead of the veg oil, used 1 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup white flour (instead of all white), 1 cup cheddar and added about 2/3 cup of chopped walnuts. With all of these changes, it made too much for one batch, so I split it in 2 batches. My boyfriend and I LOVE them and these will definitely be made again! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States