Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
A little messy since it didnt have a crust but I didnt care because it tasted awesome :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is a very good base for Apple Betty, and with some minor adjustments it is a winner. First thing is I cook the apples (granny smith) on med high heat with a little orange juice, 2tblspoons of water, cinnamon, organic evaporated cane sugar (1/8 cup) and vanilla extract (1/2 tsp) for about 10 minutes (less time if you like your apples firm). Then I add the apples into the baking dish and spread the flour mix crumble over the top if it. I melt about 1/4 cup of butter and pour over the top and then bake...when there is about 10-12 minutes left I add crushed pecans over the top then finish baking. Talk about delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Very easy recipe to use up apples before they go bad! Just make sure to use baking apples, otherwise it will get mushy. I used half brown sugar because my husband LOVES his brown sugar, and added in a few rolled oats for a crunchier texture. The recipe was very tasty and much easier than an apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
came out very good, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I had some Fugi apples that had sat around too long and were getting soft. I knew I had to do something with them soon, so I grabbed this recipe off the internet. I used both brown sugar and white sugar...1/2 cup each. I also added 1 cup of dry oatmeal to the dry mix to make it more like an an Apple Crisp. It turned out delicious! The oatmeal gave it a more crispy texture, which my family prefers. I also cooked for only 35 minutes, because the apples were already soft, and didn't want to end up with mushy apples. PERFECT! I will make this again and again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Wow, this was so delicious! I used fuji apples and put them in a large ceramic pie pan that I sprayed well with PAM to avoid sticking. I followed the recipe exactly except I used whipped butter instead of stick butter to lower the sat. fat a little, but still used the 1/2 cup amount. The recipe said to cut the apples thin and I sliced them about 1/4 inch and they were perfectly cooked. I loved the added orange juice idea. Will make this again. Thank you submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Just tasted the pie. Its really really delicious yet so simple to make. Copied the recipe but did leave it in the oven for 1 hr 15 min cuz i like the apple mushy. The crunch on top goes so well with the mushy apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was super easy to make and my family loved it. I should have halved the sugar as others indciated because it was a little too sweet for my taste. Next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Super easy!! I used an orange juice with a punch of pear and pineapple, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meghanr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
a good alternative to pie...similar to apple crisp. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrszink02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States