Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very easy recipe and quite healthy too! Could use a little more spicing and maybe a dash of liquor, but it went awesomely with a dollop of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Wow! This is a great alternative to a pie and ridiculously easy to make. I was worried about how it would taste since its so simple, but it was great. I made it the day before and reheated it in the oven for a Thanksgiving desert. I used granny smith apples. As others have noted, I thought the crumble was a tad sweet and will use less sugar the next time I make it, but won't change a thing otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
So easy - smells great! This is really a winner. My only change is I used Simply Apple juice instead of orange juice. :-( Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose G
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
DEFFINATLY A DO AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by morrisroad
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Its a good alternative, but I found that topping a bit too sweet. I used a combo of apple types and will try only green next time to see if I get a better consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
As I cannot make piecrust to save my life, I was looking for something to make out of apples a neighbor gave me and found this jewel. Absolutely delicious-not too tart nor too sweet and the top crust is amazing!!!!! I can now thumb my nose at my sister who makes the best pie crust in the world. I will make this faboo dessert again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was good, but......I do like apple crisp better as it has a "crustier" top. I made both this and the crisp for a gathering and the apple crisp seemed to get the more raves. As others have said this is a fast, easy recipe if you don't want to fuss with pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Delicious, but I cut the sugar in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dressagegrrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
What a great easy alternative to making a full pie! Would probably use less sugar next time as we found it a bit too sweet. Thanks for the other recommendations for using 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar...I will try 1/2 cup white and 1/3 cup brown next time. Maybe a bit more cinnamon as well. Two thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States