Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We really liked this, I used lemon juice instead of orange because that's what I had and it's really just to keep the apples from turning brown - that said I would use a bit less next time even if I had oj. I will make this again trying 1/2 brown sugar and a dash of cloves and/or allspice. It was good as written but I think those changes would make it great. Next time I will put foil under the pie plate to catch the drips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Very good. I used half white and half brown sugar, and otherwise followed the recipe. Next time I will make it a bit less sweet by cutting the topping ingredients down by a third or half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
The finished product was too watery. I did cut the sugar by about a quarter but the topping was still too sugary. Also the family wasn't a fan of the apples themselves as there was no flavor. So next time I reduce the oj by at least a third, the sugar by half, and add additional seasoning to the apples before adding the topping. I was thinking that replacing half the flour with oats might be a good change to make it a little more hearty. Still, I am glad I tried this recipe out as it showed me how easy it can be to throw a quick but comforting dessert together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Easy to make and delicious. Its very sweet and needs to be served with ice cream. You should make sure the apples are peeled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was so easy to make and tasted delicious!!! I love that it is basically apple pie without a crust! Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This was great! Will definitely try brown sugar next time but it's great as is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I used golden delicious and Granny Smith apples but the thin-slicing made them a little soggy. Or maybe it was because I doubled the recipe and the orange juice didn't need to be doubled? Simple and good but, this round, not sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Made recipe exactly as stated and it came out delish and perfect. I used freshly ground nutmeg and fresh ground cinnamon and that made a big difference. Recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Funliven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brundidge, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. If you like it sweeter use Rome or Delicious apples. I like it with Jonathan, Granny Smith or Gala which are a little more tart. I think that balances the sweetness of the topping. And I usually double the topping because everybody loves that part:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States