Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
So simple a college student can make this - and it comes out great. I use the precut apples from trader joes and pumpkin pie spice to speed up the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Very delicious and so very easy. Been looking for a good, simple Apple Brown Betty recipe (as I remember it called as a child)for many years. This is it. Maybe next time I will add less sugar too. I only wish it was a little browner on top when it comes out of the oven. Maybe more butter might do the trick next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Very Very Good! I used the Pampered Chef apple slicer/peeler thing and it was easy as pie! This was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Fantastic recipe. I didn't have orange juice the first time I made it and substituted fresh lemon. Was still great. Love the use of the nutmeg. Tried it a second time with the orange juice and was just as wonderful. Definitely a keeper. Thanks so much for the contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Excellent . . . I come back again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
A Quick and Easy recipe. The orange juice made the apples a little to mushy, so I will omit it the next time. I would like to play around with some spices to sprinkle directly on the apples for more flavor [APPLE PIE SPICE]. The crumbled topping was very delicious and held the pie together very nicely after it cooled for about 1 hr. I love the idea of the pie plate, looks so much nicer setting on the table than a 9x13 baking dish. Gives your table a nice warm, comforting feeling while you eat. Presentation say's alot along with the wonderful smell. ENJOY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I did not use the salt - as I never do. This was so good! It had all the right amounts of spices (I added a pinch more cinnamon) and was scrumptious with fat free vanilla frozen yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
A very good and easy substitute for apple pie. I used apple pie spice in mine and it turned out great. The OJ tastes great with the apples! I may try a little less sugar next time, but that's just personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
A wonderful recipe! Everyone loved it. I used 1/2c. brown and 1/2c. white sugar... then used about 5 cups of sliced Cortland apples, since I had so many of them. I threw in a pinch of cloves along with the other spices and baked for 45 min. at 375F, just as the recipe states. It came out perfect, brown and beautiful :) Thanks so much, Barbara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
Good, very very sweet. I will try again with less sugar and more apples. Mine was very pale when it came out of the over, but was cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States