Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I have been making this recipe for at least for probably 2-3 years and it is always popular. I have many been asked for the recipe several times. I think the orange mixed with the apples makes a big difference. I try use the juice right from the orange when I have oranges around. I serve just out of the oven with some vanilla ice cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
apples came out nice, however the flour/sugar mixture became hard and clumpy. I did do the 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white so that may have been the problem. Also, making it uncovered may have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I'm not giving this recipe a terrible rating because I'm sure I must've done something wrong to get the results I did. Okay flavor, really BAD presentation. I tried to about double everything - put the apples in the orange juice as I was slicing them so they wouldn't brown. Either I used too much orange juice (I only used a little over 1/3 cup) or having the apples in it caused them to release water while cooking because when I pulled this out of the oven it was SWIMMING in buttery water. I kid you not - rocking the pan from side to side make it look like the apples were floating on top of water. The topping had all melted and pretty much disintegrated in the water and it was just . . . ugly. And REALLY REALLY sweet. I even drained the watery part and just gave husband the apples and ice cream and he only ate about three bites. I'll probably try a different recipe next time since I couldn't make this one work. Sorry. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Easy and soooo good. I always get rave reviews when I make this dish. Don't slice the apples too thin though or they end up too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Wow! This is amazing... The best apple dish i've ever made. My parents brought me a ton of apples from BC and I have been trying to find something different to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
This was delicious. Very easy. I only used 3/4 C sugar. It was still a little sweet for my taste. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Really, really good. I used about 5 cups of apples,1/2 cup sugar, 1tsp. cinnamon,& 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, as we like it less sweet and more cinnamonny ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
So simple a college student can make this - and it comes out great. I use the precut apples from trader joes and pumpkin pie spice to speed up the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Very delicious and so very easy. Been looking for a good, simple Apple Brown Betty recipe (as I remember it called as a child)for many years. This is it. Maybe next time I will add less sugar too. I only wish it was a little browner on top when it comes out of the oven. Maybe more butter might do the trick next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Very Very Good! I used the Pampered Chef apple slicer/peeler thing and it was easy as pie! This was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 181-190 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States