Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
My mom has been making this all my life. Excellent receipe and so easy to make. It tastes great with many different types of apples, served warm with cinnamon ice cream on top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Delicious. Made it last night. My husband and I had to get seconds! I didn't have nutmeg, so used "allspice" instead. I didn't have orange juice either, so used some juicy juice berry. The top crust was absolutely addictive! Easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenniferJP
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Very good, but the presentation is ugly, I wouldn't serve it to company. I used a mandolin to slice the apples into uniform rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
EXCELLENT!!! i used a Cuisinart to slice those apples simply, uniform, and thin... it also whips up the crumbly topping nicely. I used 1/2 C brown sugar and 1/4 white. I added 1/2 t vanilla to the oj before pouring it over apples SO EASY, SO GOOD!!! I'll make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was sooooooo good and soooo easy! I usually shy away from any recipe calling for O.J. because I'm not a fan of orange-flavored desserts, but it is not noticeable at all. I didn't have any nutmeg, but it still tasted fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This was very easy to make. I have never cooked with apples before and I did not peel them, would definitely peel them first next time. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamH
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Easy to make! I sliced the apples, added the OJ.. then mixed flour ingredients.. the butter had been sitting out while I cut apples, so it was soft when I was ready to use it, making it easier. I also forgot to grease the pan.. but it wasn't an issue. You want an extra-ordinary desert, but don't have alot of time. This is perfect. Serve with vanilla ice-cream or cool whip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I have been making this recipe for at least for probably 2-3 years and it is always popular. I have many been asked for the recipe several times. I think the orange mixed with the apples makes a big difference. I try use the juice right from the orange when I have oranges around. I serve just out of the oven with some vanilla ice cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
apples came out nice, however the flour/sugar mixture became hard and clumpy. I did do the 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white so that may have been the problem. Also, making it uncovered may have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I'm not giving this recipe a terrible rating because I'm sure I must've done something wrong to get the results I did. Okay flavor, really BAD presentation. I tried to about double everything - put the apples in the orange juice as I was slicing them so they wouldn't brown. Either I used too much orange juice (I only used a little over 1/3 cup) or having the apples in it caused them to release water while cooking because when I pulled this out of the oven it was SWIMMING in buttery water. I kid you not - rocking the pan from side to side make it look like the apples were floating on top of water. The topping had all melted and pretty much disintegrated in the water and it was just . . . ugly. And REALLY REALLY sweet. I even drained the watery part and just gave husband the apples and ice cream and he only ate about three bites. I'll probably try a different recipe next time since I couldn't make this one work. Sorry. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States