Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
My husband loved this, but my daughter and I thought it was too sweet. Next time I make it, I would cut the white sugar to 1/4 cup and put in 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead. I also found that it needed to bake for longer than the 45 minutes called for by the recipe. I had it go an hour, then broiled it for a couple of minutes to get it a little browner. Definitely more appealing that way. Otherwise, not too bad and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I had very high hopes for this recipe. Although I liked it, my family thought it was way too sweet. If I make it again, I will use half as much sugar. Also, the apples were very soft (I used Granny Smith). I think that I will cut them thicker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Great recipe! We subbed sugar for Splenda and still good... I don't like apples or splenda. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Fantastic! I left the skin on,used the food processer to blend the topping and then the slicer attachment to slice the apples. I added dried cranberries to the oj. Also used 1/2 the butter and cut the sugar in 1/2 too and used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar. The reviews that say it is not a nice presentation.....I disagree, mine came out like a perfect crumb topping~beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe is fantastic!! I have made it twice so far this week and everyone who had tried it has loved it! I substituted the OJ this time around with apple cider and it is delish! We serve it over Edys icecream with carmel swirl and carmel cups and ites to die for! Drizzle a little bit of caremel on top if you really have a sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This dessert was soooo good, I made it twice in two days. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. The second time, I made a healthier version by 1. cutting down the butter by 2 tbs, 2. using half whole wheat, half white flour, and 3. leaving the skin on half the apples. It was just as delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
A great recipe for non-bakers! Came out fabulous, everybody loved it when I served it at Thanksgiving. However, I halved the sugar called for, and it was plenty sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aggiesgirl1945

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Super tasty and easy. It was ready for the oven in the time that it took to preheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Another reviewer was right...presentation is lacking for this recipe. The topping disappears into the apples and actually gets soggy if you don't serve it while warm from the oven. It tastes good with vanilla ice cream but is too "gooey" for my tastes if it sits at all. Sorry, but I've made this twice...so I think I've given it a good try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this recipe and added 1/2 cup of cranberries for little color..voila! I also used 3 tblsp of apple juice and a drizzle of honey. What a wonderful recipe and so easy to make as it is or add a few seasonal favorites. I am going to try it with pears and peaches next!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States