Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Absolutely the best Apple Betty I've ever had! I don't know how anyone's could have come out runny. Certainly wasn't from following this recipe. My Apple Betty came out thick, rich and DELISH! And I was not so careful to measure exactly either. Used more fresh OJ, less white sugar, more brown sugar, more cinnamon, lighter flour and it still came out perfect. And yes, my husband and I also finished it all in one night. Something we never do! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Made this last year for a bunch of Americans who were having Thanksgiving in Italy. It was a HUGE hit!! We made it every couple weeks after that and had "Apple Betty Nights" regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I made this with my two daughters and it is/was sooooooooo good. We took the advice of others and sprinkled a little cinnamon and nutmeg over the apples after we drizzled them with the maple syrup. We also had to add a little more flour (about 1/8 cup) to get the topping to a crumbly consistency. It took us all of ten minutes to throw the whole thing together including peeling and slicing apples. Thanks so much for the recipe. I would give it more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I took this to a potluck and it was a huge hit. Everyone raved and asked for the recipe. I should have doubled it - there wasn't any left to take home! I did make two changes based on the reviews: I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla over the apples and did 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar for the topping. Excellent and easy dish, and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I have been making this recipe for at lest 20 years. It is a favorite winter desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
a very bland dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I have fixed this recipe a couple of times and everyone loves it. The only thing different I used 1/4 C.less sugar and used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar.Also added 15 min. baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
OMG brilliant. I followed some of the other review recommendation and did half brown half white sugar and it was absolutley fantastic. My fiance and i just couldn't help ourselves and ate it all out of the pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sah Bear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomastown, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This can be addictive!!! A must try recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe and my husband has had me make it 4 times now since Thanksgiving! Much appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhsheehan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States